We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ring O'Bells Thornton

Ring O'Bells Thornton
212 Hill Top Road | Thornton, Bradford BD13 3QL, England (Formerly The Ring O'Bells)
+44 1274 832296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 521 Restaurants in Bradford
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Will return again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Excellent food professional friendly staff. Visited to celebrate my husbands birthday, group of 18, area prepared with birthday banners and a complimentary drink. Excellent service had a great time great value thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are always honoured to be part of our customers birthday celebrations!

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    61
    23
    29
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Ring O Bells always Rings out the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Here to celebrate a birthday and the food was one of the best we have had here. The Chilli & Peppered Calamari, was excellent as was the Selection of Fish served beautifully as the starters. My Steak was cooked to perfection and although a Chicken César Salad was the choice of the wife, she said it was one of the best she had eaten. It is always a pleasure to dine here, the staff are welcoming (Steven the General Manager, New Bar Manager Kieron, and of course mine Hosts Ann & Clive and the rest of the team.) Looking for somewhere special to celebrate or just a quick lunch - this establishment never ceases to fail!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for you review.

We never want to rest on our laurels and are always trying to deliver the best possible food in a friendly atmosphere... Hopefully we never cease to amaze!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West sussex
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We came across this pub when looking for somewhere to have a little lunch. It was very busy... always a good sign. We only wanted a snack so decided to have a prawn cocktails from the starter menu. this was presented in a different way than usual... cant describe it but it tasted great and filled a hole. Everyone in there was very friendly so my sister and I decided to go back there in the evening for our dinner. we were not disappointed. We all had fish and chips..... huge big piece with lovely proper chips and mushy peas. unfortunately we had looked at the desert menu as well and had decided to have sticky toffee pudding.... but when it came to it we had not room for this and just had a coffee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Maybe we shall see you back again some time for that Sticky Toffee Pudding.. you wont be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fab food & generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Booked for main restaurant on a Sat night. Extensive menu with some specials. Didn't have starter as loaf of freshly baked bread appeared on the table - that was enough to share! Chose fish pie from mains. It was huge. Enough for 2. Whilst nice, is such a size necessary? Maybe offer a smaller sized one too? I didn't have pudding but partner had panacotta & said it was the best he'd ever tasted. Toilets were clean with beautiful fresh flowers. Recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your Saturday night with us. We are proud to say that our portions are on the generous size, we never want you to hit the fast food joints on your way home!!

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a great foodie place to visit. They have an excellent a la carte menu with a weekly specials menu as well. At lunch time and early evening in the bar, they have a a cheaper 2 or 3 course menu. Dishes such as pan fried chicken with a forestiere sauce and lemon tart with a raspberry sorbet are good examples. They have recently introduced Britalian Pizzas. You can have a full English breakfast pizza for £9.95!

The staff are wonderful. Stephen, General Manager, Pauline, Restaurant Manager and Kieron, Bar Manager are great! The owners, Anne and Clive Preston (he's the bosses husband!) make everyone welcome. Debbie, the head chef is very talented and the food is always consistently good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you very much for that review.

We are very proud of our team here at the Ring O'Bells. The trick is everyone really cares about what they do, and that is serving our fantastic customers with the best food we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring O'Bells Thornton also viewed

 

Been to Ring O'Bells Thornton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring O'Bells Thornton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.