We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ring O'Bells Thornton

Ring O'Bells Thornton
212 Hill Top Road | Thornton, Bradford BD13 3QL, England (Formerly The Ring O'Bells)
+44 1274 832296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 521 Restaurants in Bradford
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a great foodie place to visit. They have an excellent a la carte menu with a weekly specials menu as well. At lunch time and early evening in the bar, they have a a cheaper 2 or 3 course menu. Dishes such as pan fried chicken with a forestiere sauce and lemon tart with a raspberry sorbet are good examples. They have recently introduced Britalian Pizzas. You can have a full English breakfast pizza for £9.95!

The staff are wonderful. Stephen, General Manager, Pauline, Restaurant Manager and Kieron, Bar Manager are great! The owners, Anne and Clive Preston (he's the bosses husband!) make everyone welcome. Debbie, the head chef is very talented and the food is always consistently good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you very much for that review.

We are very proud of our team here at the Ring O'Bells. The trick is everyone really cares about what they do, and that is serving our fantastic customers with the best food we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    61
    23
    29
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“WHATS THE POINT OF COOKING WITH FOOD LIKE THIS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

It was an awful day on Sunday that we decided it was too miserable to stop in and cook. We chose to go to our local eaterie and have Sunday lunch. Its years since we had eaten Sunday lunch here and and how foolish we have been. Out came the warm granary loaf with butter and garlic butter- scrumptious. I had the chicken liver pate with granary toast and my hubby opted for beetroot fritters with crème fraiche. We both chose to have belly pork with mustard mash and a selection of vegetables. The veg was to die for, crispy roast potatoes, al dente carrots and cauliflower and crushed turnip mash. They were so good we asked for additional ones. It is a set lunch but it has plenty of choices on each course, on memory there were 5. Plus there was a small a la carte menu available too. The whole meal was really outstanding. £13.95 for three courses is an absolute bargain and if you only want to have 2 courses then the price is reduced accordingly. We managed a pud too treacle sponge with vanilla custard served separately in its own pot which I thought was a nice touch. There are so many other places where you either get not enough custard or they swamp the plate, this way you choose how much you want.
This is not your typical Sunday lunch- its really very good. Cooked fresh and served with lots of smiles. We shall be back here quite regularly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review!

People are so amazed at how good our Sunday lunch can be for only £13.95 for three courses.. in fact, I'm amazed myself!!

The food is cooked fresh with only the best local ingredients, If I was working I'd be eating here myself.. especially as there's no washing up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I recently stopped for a spot of lunch at The Ring O'Bells... The menu choice was surprising, the service excellent and the food Yumptious. I'll definitely be back for Sunday Lunch with my family and can't wait to try their Britalian Pizza when it's launched.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Sunday lunch is our busiest day of the week, and not surprising as it's only £13.95 for 3 courses! Better book up soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great service, great friends!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Went to R o B in Thornton for lunch today. Had a salmon starter which was yummy and main course steak cooked to perfection and very tasty accompanying red wine sauce. If you are looking for a good value gourmet experience in a charming country pub style location with great service and friendly helpful staff I would highly recommend you visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We go out of our way to find the best local produce. We believe this shows in the quality of our dishes!

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Went on a Friday night for tea, the staff are very friendly and helpful! The food is great especially the granary loaf and the meat and potato pie, which I would highly recommend! Will definitely be visiting again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We have been making Our Famous Meat & Potato Pie for over 20 years now and it still tastes as good as when we first made it! It must be the John Smiths Gravy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring O'Bells Thornton also viewed

 

Been to Ring O'Bells Thornton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring O'Bells Thornton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.