We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, relaxing, relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ring O'Bells Thornton

Ring O'Bells Thornton
212 Hill Top Road | Thornton, Bradford BD13 3QL, England (Formerly The Ring O'Bells)
+44 1274 832296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 521 Restaurants in Bradford
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Relaxing, relaxing, relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We never fail to enjoy our regular trips to this restaurant. We are always made to feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for the staff, ever. Whether we eat in the bar area or the restaurant we have never been disappointed. Its such a lovely restaurant we feel relaxed the moment we walk through the door.

We are always too full for dessert due to the portion sizes and extra veg/chips are offered free, should you require. We have never taken advantage of this finding the portions more than adequate. We have however been greedily tempted by desserts and gone home 'fit to burst'!

My hubby had fish and chips which were gorgeous and I had meat pie which was, and always, is amazing! Both cooked to perfection.

Ann, the delightful owner never fails to speak to us and make sure all is well. That coupled with the ambience of this restaurant never fails to please.

We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We always try to go out of our way to make everyone welcome, customers new and old (or should I say regular?!)

Our Famous Meat and Potato pie always goes down well (which it has done for the past 22 years!

We look forward to you return visist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    61
    23
    29
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was our second visit and once again were not disappointed. Its a lovely setting and even though we went on a Thursday lunchtime, plenty of atmosphere as other guest there. The food was outstanding, we had purchased a groupn deal for the chateubriand, although waited sometime for the platter we were wowed when it arrived. Extremely tasty, the best one we have had. Lots of accompliments which complemented the dish. Took our 4 year old with us, the kids bangers and mash went down a treat, very big portion but he mangaged to finish it. The staff were very friendly and very attentative. We spoke with the landlords who were very chatty and I could see they took great pride in their pub. The set menu at lunchtime look great value, we will definitely be coming again. Thanks for a great dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We do take pride in what we do and it's always great to hear that it is well received. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I went for Sunday lunch with my friends recently after one of the friends in the group had highly rated the al la carte menu food so suggested we try it for Sunday lunch.
I opted for the veg special main (not a vegetarian but it sounded nice!) However I was hugely disappointed as when it came out it looked more like a starter - 2 roasted peppers piled on top of melted mozzarella with a spoonful of pesto on top. Our table was then given dishes of veg & potatoes to share between us but not much. My friends all had roast beef which again wasn't much when it came out served with an over cooked Yorkshire pudding balanced on top of the meat. Not much gravy so my friend asked for more...

We then ordered dessert & some of us liked the sticky toffee pudding & butterscotch sauce, but when we asked if this came with anything e.g. Custard or ice cream. The answer was no! We asked if we could order to come out with some custard & ice cream (we said we were happy to pay more if needed!). The puddings were all served on flat dessert plates (not bowls) with scoop of ice cream & some custard (even though one friend had ordered hers with ice cream). However, no butterscotch sauce in sight so we had to ask for a serving of butterscotch sauce - how can you serve sticky toffee without the sauce?
The waitress did bring over a very small jug of sauce to share between 5 of us.

We were all disappointed with the pudding as it looked & tasted more like treacle pudding, not butterscotch...certainly no toffee flavour or dates in sight.

When the bill came, we were charged an extra £1.45 each for the small serving of custard & 1 small scoop of ice cream. But, we just paid & left.

The staff didn't seem very attentive or efficient throughout our booking. So disappointed as we were looking forward to our visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the Ring O'Bells.
It's disappointing on our part you didn't mention these issues when you were here rather than waiting a few days to publish your issues via tripadvisor. If you had said something to our staff while you were still with us I am sure we could have addressed some of these issues.

As you have said all our dishes come with vegetables for the tables which is sometimes why there doesn't seem much on the plate. However, we will always provide more vegetables free of charge if required and as you found out more gravy too! (some people don't like too much gravy so it's always easier to provide more if needed). As you can see from the majority of our reviews we don't scrimp on portions and many of our customers are too full for desert!

With regards to the sticky toffee pudding, you wont see the dates as they are mixed through the pudding giving it that dark colour. As for being charged for ice-cream. Our three course Sunday lunch is only £13.95 which is fantastic value when you compare it to others locally. It would be very hard for us to charge this price if we were to give extras on top of the three courses included.

I do hope you will visit us again and please feel free to contact me direct if there are any other issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great rural setting, beautifully presented food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Great rural setting, traditional decor without the clutter of other traditional pub restaurants locally. Beautifully presented food, not over the top flash bang wallop, just carefully presented quality food from a kitchen that wants to feed you... What more would you want?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are blessed to be in such wonderful surroundings which always looks picturesque no matter what the season.

We are also blessed with a team of chefs who are passionate about the food the produce and front of house staff who care about the service they provide.

We hope to welcome you back to the Ring O Bells very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellet food and service..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Wow! What an amazing restaurant. The quality and taste of the food is second to none and all provided with a smile and excellent service.
I highly recommend The Ring o Bells and will most certainly be paying another visit.......

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen G, General Manager at Ring O'Bells Thornton, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Excellent food and service is what we strive for every time!

We shall look forward to welcoming you back soon to keep up this standard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring O'Bells Thornton also viewed

 

Been to Ring O'Bells Thornton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring O'Bells Thornton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.