We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous restaurant with excellent food, staff and Ann and Clive Preston are superb hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ring O'Bells Thornton

Ring O'Bells Thornton
212 Hill Top Road | Thornton, Bradford BD13 3QL, England (Formerly The Ring O'Bells)
+44 1274 832296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 521 Restaurants in Bradford
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous restaurant with excellent food, staff and Ann and Clive Preston are superb hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I go regularly to the Ring o Bells for their monthly gourmet food and wine evenings. Each month the theme is from a different country from around the world. The cuisine and wines are typical of each place. All the details of these brilliant evenings are on their website - www.theringobells.com

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    61
    23
    29
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful venue wonderful food wonderful staff and wonderfull owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We had family party for my mothers 70th. What a wonderful menu well served and what great hosts Ann and Clive Preston are. Well worth visiting. The curried sweet potato soup and tarragon chicken mainwere stunning and the chefs own ice cream and brandy snaps were excellent. We all had a wonderful night. And the numbers, 34 of us, didn't phase the staff. Pauline the restaurant manager was superb.

Thanks for a fabulous party. And thanks for the kind words for my mother and late father for whom the ring o bells has been a home from home for years.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fabulous early bird prices and welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I found this pub via the internet and it sounded lovely, with good reviews so I made a last minute booking on Good Friday and arrived just in time to be eligible for the early bird menu. The staff were polite and courteous and we didn't have to wait long before our food arrived. I have to say we were very impressed at the standard of cooking as everything was perfectly cooked and presented. I would certainly recommend this restaurant and can't wait to go back and try more of the menu!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another great family dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We visited the Ring of Bells for a family birthday outing on the 25th March and had a great time once more. I have been a customer here for the best part of twenty years and have entertained both business clients, colleagues, and my family and friends during that time. I do so because quality and service can be guaranteed and this last visit was brilliant. The food was of the usual very high standard, hot, beautifully cooked, and served with a smile. Three of the party, including myself, were driving and plenty of non-alcoholic drinks were available, but for the wine drinkers a good selection of wines were on offer.
Value for money? A resounding yes! Thank you to you all.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Highest Quality Food & Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went last minute on Saturday early evening. I had the Whitby Haddock, my wife the Red Mullet. All washed down with a couple of glasses of the house Sauvignon Blanc
The meal, wine and service were first class and would wholly recomend it
Pricing was very competitive and the staff were extremely polite and friendly

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring O'Bells Thornton also viewed

 

Been to Ring O'Bells Thornton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring O'Bells Thornton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.