We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tasty food !!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dog and Gun

Dog and Gun
Denholme Road, Oxenhope, Bradford BD22 9SN, England
01535 643 159
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 521 Restaurants in Bradford
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good tasty food !!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Called in for late lunch with my husband on a freezing cold day. Pub very warm and welcoming especially with the theology burning fires. Staff friendly and efficient. We had the fish and chips and steak, the chips were so tasty and home made the fish was bigger than the plate. Really enjoyed it and would recommend it to friends. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    11
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice family pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have passed this pub plenty of times, we decided to have something to eat here.
It was really nice, there is a bar menu and a restaurant menu. It's not expensive either, lots of choice of wine, Etc.
On a Friday they do 2 for 1 on main meals, but only if you book your table in advance. We saw the poster when we arrived. But it was quite cheap so we couldn't complain.

I'd recommend here if you are passing.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Family Favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We go to the Dog & Gun regularly and have never had a bad meal. The welcome from Michael and the staff is always warm and friendly. You may get cut off here in the bad weather but what a great place to be stranded. Two open fires, two dining areas, a great bar with well kept beers and a great list of specials to add to the menu choices. Locally sourced produce that is well cooked and well presented. A firm favourite. Try and go near Christmas and meet the cycling Santa's carol singing or go in the summer for the Great Straw Bale Race. Brilliant pub all round.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleckney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New Year at the Dog and Gun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dog and Gun for New Year for the fourth year on the trot. For me this is the quintessential English pub, high in the hills above the village of Oxenhope in Bronte Country. 2 roaring fires in winter, extremely good food (way beyond "pub grub"), superb Timmy Taylors beer, welcoming staff and a great mix of customers.. Accommodation is available, 5 well appointed and quite large rooms. Breakfasts are excellent, freshly cooked to whatever one wants. I have stayed here approximately a dozen times over the last few years, often with friends, and never been disappointed. As my wife often says, it is like coming home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like it but it has become a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We do un but now that there are a lot of more reasonably priced food to be served within another 20 mins drive, we do not visit the Dog and Gun as much as we used to.

Can't fault the food but it's the price that puts us off. The drinks are pricey too. However, can fault the service, Greg in particular is always friendly and helpful and remembers what we like.

We will go back but would go more often if the prices were more comparable with other pubs in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog and Gun also viewed

Keighley, West Yorkshire
Keighley, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Keighley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Dog and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog and Gun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.