We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best curry in Bradford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Centre Restaurant

Sweet Centre Restaurant
110-114 Lumb Lane, Bradford BD8 7RS, England
+44 1274 731735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 521 Restaurants in Bradford
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Tapas, Turkish, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Sweet Centre Restaurant has been providing authentic asian cuisine for over 48 years in the heart of yorkshire and continues to be instrumental in providing good quality family orientated kashmiri cuisine. The restaurant offers an experience with charming staff, good service and exceptional quality of food to ensure guests come back for more. Sweet Centre restaurant provides an authentic surrounding combined with authentic tradional taste, making it perfect for any occasion. Since opening our doors in 1964, Sweet Centre Restaurant has become a distinguished household name, with a strong following. We hope to continue in providing you with Excellent Food & Service and hope to build on our reputation.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best curry in Bradford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Myself and three friends visit once a year whilst at a conference at life church in the city. It is the only curry house of want to go to!! It is usually full of locals, which is always a good sign. The owner is so friendly, and remembers us year to year, even what food he recommended the year before!! He, especially, makes us feel so welcome.
The food feels authentic and is above all delicious and varied. We will keep returning and enjoying the food and the service. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    44
    31
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Back at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have been coming here for a long time (on and off) and it is more 'on' at the moment.

The food is top notch, good quality fayre and reasonably priced. Excellent value for money.

Unlike some 'trendier' Indian restaurants I could mention where you are 'processed' (they want you in, fed and out in double-quick time). The Sweet Centre staff allow you to take your time and enjoy your food, just what eating out should be!.

I strongly recommend the Chicken Balti.

Final mention goes to Waqar, he is a thoroughly nice bloke who offers genuine great service. He has a passion for the business and what he does and this really shows.

Get yourself along!.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Marvellous for a Family Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've been visiting The Sweet Centre for at least 5 years. I brought 12 family members there recently for a celebration dinner and found the food to be even better than ever. Excellent, inobtrusive service and a great price, too. This restaurant can't be beaten.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Nice Meal but Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

If Bradford is one of the curry capitals of the UK and this is the best curry house in Bradford (which it currently in the Tripadvisor ratings), then something has gone badly wrong. There must be better than this?

Funnily enough, despite my really negative opening paragraph, I really liked this place. It's located down a quiet back street in Bradford with decor straight from the best curry houses of the 1970's. I found the interior very appealing with tables big enough to eat from (unlike Akbars) and the chairs comfy. I had read in a previous review that the bogs were stinky but, on my solitary visit, found them to be in a decent state if not exactly state of the art.

I got a good welcome on arrival and sat down to a really very limited menu - there weren't even any 'Chefs Specials' to tempt and extra couple of quid out of the old wallet. I ordered masala fish for my starters and chicken balti for mains. The masala fish was huge, sympathetically cooked and moist and tender. That said, neither the fish or the masala crust had a very much flavour at all. It was served with a lovely spicy raita which somewhat overpowered the rather bland fish. The balti was a nicely flavoured, fairly dry dish with some green peppers. It was very similar to the balti at Akbars and, whilst satisfying, was not a million miles ahead of what you could knock up at home.

With a drink, and a couple of lovely fresh chapatis, it came to £16 - far from expensive but not exactly cheap either. I enjoyed my experience and meal at The Sweet Centre but really don't know why reviewers are raving about it. It's a good, solid, old fashioned workhorse of a curry house but not the show pony reviews would have you believe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“quality all round,excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Recently visited with a dozen friends, pleasantly surprised at the staffs ability to cope with varying tastes-cracking quality food, copious in quantity (doggy bag needed!)They couldnt do enough to please and set us up with a banquet (4 courses!) in which they also allowed us to experiment with their new dishes-usually a meat eat eater but would readily return for their fish dishes!
Great to find a quality BYO-adds to the atmosphere!We travelled from Barnsley -well worth the journey for a cracking night out. Live a bit and visit them-engage with the owners and letthem guide you through the dishes...fun and informative ...they really have time for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Centre Restaurant also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sweet Centre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Centre Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.