We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, fab food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Centre Restaurant

Sweet Centre Restaurant
110-114 Lumb Lane, Bradford BD8 7RS, England
+44 1274 731735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 519 Restaurants in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Turkish, Vegetarian, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sweet Centre Restaurant has been providing authentic asian cuisine for over 48 years in the heart of yorkshire and continues to be instrumental in providing good quality family orientated kashmiri cuisine. The restaurant offers an experience with charming staff, good service and exceptional quality of food to ensure guests come back for more. Sweet Centre restaurant provides an authentic surrounding combined with authentic tradional taste, making it perfect for any occasion. Since opening our doors in 1964, Sweet Centre Restaurant has become a distinguished household name, with a strong following. We hope to continue in providing you with Excellent Food & Service and hope to build on our reputation.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I popped into the Sweet Centre on Sunday with a friend after a blast on his motorbike across the moors and we were met with wonderful service and great food. My friend remembers the restaurant fondly from years ago and we weren't disappointed. We had a keema masala (on recommendation), chapatis and lassi - simple but really tasty! Waqar told us about his grandfather who originally opened the restaurant after getting together enough money working in the mill across the way. A lovely place with welcoming people - worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    47
    33
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Does not deserve it's reputation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently visited the Sweet Centre (the last time I went was a few years ago). I think this place is not all that great anymore. The food is mediocre (my main of chicken balti was very bland indeed). The service is pretty dreadful; the manager made no effort at all.

I think this place is long overdue relegation. Old is not necessarily gold.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing service, amazing food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Saw this on trip advisor and my partner and I decided to give it a go, so glad that we did.

Traditional curry house, nothing glamorous, just great food and the staff are so polite and friendly.

Please give this place a go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Curry and Great Starters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have used to go to the sweet centre in the early 90`s and always had a nice curry, and for some reason have`nt been back until this year, and yes the curries are still good authentic Asian Style curries. The starters are also excellent served with a spicy onion and mint salad. I like the chicken masala here and its always the same quality. The only downside is that its in a run down part of Bradford and parking is very limited, so wouldnt feel safe wondering far for my car here. Also the ladies toilets need modernizing as they are a poor standard for a restaurant, hand driers not working poor quality decoration, But its a nice curry and worth a vist,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having lived in Bradford for over 15 years, you can imagine how many curries we have experienced. This place is probably the best curry house in Bradford. Visited on a Saturday night, table for 2 booked for 8pm. Got mixed starter to set things off. One of the waiters told us later that we got the large mixed grill which was designed for 4 people. The shami kebab (ok, not cordon bleu cuisine - but hey, is on most curry restaurant/takeaway menus going so is a good yardstick to measure against) is miles better than any we've tried elsewhere. Decent quality meat, and therefore not overly spiced. The fish masala that we had for main was fantastic. Proper pieces of cod, delicately flavoured, out of this world. All in all, ate like kings, had enough left over for lunch the following day, and total bill was less than £35. I concede this was helped by the fact that they don't have an alcohol license and therefore operate a bring-your-own policy, which is great as drinks are often the most expensive thing on the menu! Would recommend to anyone who wants to experience a decent Bradford curry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Centre Restaurant also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sweet Centre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Centre Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.