We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castizo

El Castizo
St Pancras, Chichester, England
01243788988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 182 restaurants in Chichester
Price range: $20 - $29
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were lucky enough to get the last table on what was a very busy Saturday night. We have been to El Castizo many times and a few things remain constant: the food is sensational, the service from James and his team is excellent and the atmosphere is lively, friendly and fun. It's amazing value too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    260
    48
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, authentic atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky enough to have my 30th birthday meal here a few weeks ago and felt compelled to write a review. I cannot say enough about the hospitality of the staff and the quality of the food. Nothing was to too much effort and the staff really made it a special birthday. A huge thank you to all the staff there and to have the owner setting such an excellent example, its no surprise that this restaurant is such a success. I would hugely recommend this restaurant to anyone!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews and eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a table on a Friday night at short notice and had a fantastic time. Even though there were two large parties have Christmas "dos" the service was excellent and the food outstanding. This is real tapas, the sort you get in Spain, served to the Spanish. The live music was equally excellent and really added to the evening.

Prices were very good for a tapas restaurant, with dishes ranging between £3.50 ish to around £6 for the tiger prawns. Deserts about £4. Good range of Spanish beers as well as wines etc. Excellent value.

We will be going back very soon.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun and first time for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our first time here but risked bringing some friends on the strength of these reviews. Not disappointed!
The evening sitting was full so we had to book an early table. Took that as a good sign! We were first in, but the room soon filled up and became very buzzy.
We ordered sparkling wine and were recommended house fizz in a daft looking bottle. Excellent!
Then we ordered two dishes each of what we liked the look of on the menu and a couple of spares to share. Dishes come when they are ready rather than in any logical order so its definitely not a formal "starter first then main dish" formula. By the time we had shared round the first offerings the second wave was on its way and it all sorted its self out perfectly.
An excellent variety dishes. Battered fish, spicy chicken, Spanish omelette, mixed cold meats, vegetables cooked in herbs, cheese platter, garlic chips - no going hungry here. (Although I would ask for the garlic sauce on the side next time so I can dip the chips in). We ordered seconds of our favourites which came along very quickly.
Fab night and will return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well, bless my soul...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent find (thanks, Tripadvisor)

On my daughter's birthday, six of us ate here and really enjoyed it. Although the booking process could be improved and parking nearby is tricky, once there we had NO complaints. Down the stairs to a cellar which was very pleasant and cosy. The staff were friendly and helpful, suggesting 2-3 tapas dishes per person. There's a good range of wines, beers and liqueurs available (including a delicious big bottle of beer from el Bulli), but it was the food that impressed. Service was very prompt and everything was very tasty.

Highlights included the king prawns on a sizzling platter, the artichoke hearts, the butter beans and spinach, pork skewers and many more. Total bill, including drinks was about £25 per head. And we didn't leave hungry!

Highly recommended - just book early as it's deservedly popular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Castizo also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
West Ashling, Chichester
 

Been to El Castizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Castizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.