We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassons Restaurant

Cassons Restaurant
Arundel road | Tangmere, Chichester PO180DU, England
01243773294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 189 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: $38 - $62
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The finest food set in charming relaxed surroundings, cooked by award winning Chef Viv. Out of City with plenty of parking.The owners strive to give each guest an unforgettable experience.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Beautiful food, excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I've lived in the area for 4 years, driving past Cassons perhaps a thousand times, not thought to try the place even though hearing good comments on their food. Last night we were invited by good friends - annoyed that I've had so many mediocre meals in other establishments in the area, Cassons is head and shoulders above the lot of them and no more expensive either. I recommend you give it a try, we'll be back for sure - in fact we booked for one of their special events in April, a menu inspired by the Orient Express. Can't wait !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    31
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Reliably good food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've just visited Cassons for the third time but this is the first time I've got round to writing a review for this great little restaurant.
As Chichester is a fairly affluent place with a lot of boating weekenders and the Goodwood events there are plenty of pretty good restaurants in the area. But Cassons always seems to delight us with a good menu and pleasantly relaxed but very attentive service.
We're now planning on visiting Cassons for one of their gourmet evenings - sure this will be a success!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“These guys know how to organise a party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

When you're organising a family lunch for 10 in an unfamiliar area, you can soon tell whether the restaurant knows how to organise a party. I always start by asking what the seating plan will be - and as soon as someone says '5 on each side' look to excuse myself - as they clearly don't understand that the people on the end are about to endure a seriously sub-optimal experience as they will be entirely dependant upon the conversation of the next door person to engage with the group.

I spoke to Cass (I think he may be the owner) whose response was 'I'm sorry that we don't have a large enough round table; but we will have a square table so we'll put 3 on the sides and 2 on each end'. Passed! On we worked through all the options: menu - fixed, set or a la carte; wine etc etc.

We decided to eat a la carte, but when we arrived we found that the set menu had such a wide choice that we ended up eating from that. As everyone chose differently, I won't go through all the choices - suffice to say that the group declared every dish to be superb. I would echo that. The service was also very good - attentive without being overbearing. We live in London, so are not short of good local restaurants. Cassons is as good as many of them - at a fraction of the price.

All said, a delightful experience made ;possible by the skills of the owner, chef and waiting staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Took 8 people here actually for a business dinner. Staff/owners were fantastic and could not have been more accommodating. Atmosphere is lovely and the food quite superb, some of the best I have ever eaten. I had fish of the day cooked as per the whim of the chef which was actually paupettes of sole with a lobster broth. Fillet steak looked fantastic and try the selection of desserts if you cannot make up your mind! Worth a visit and very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love this restaurant, and have been here a number of times. It offers nice food and a friendly service. Canapes are offered before you are seated and they are more often than not - amazing! The portions are small and pretty although we are always surprised that we are actually pleasantly full by the end of 3 courses and don't end up leaving feeling bloated and sick. The price is more expensive than a lot of others in Chichester but they still keep below the very high class ones such as Bailiffscourt - making them great value for money - we are due to go again in a couple of weeks,....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassons Restaurant also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Cassons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.