We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know what you're going to get. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge - Chichester - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - Chichester
30 Southgate, Chichester PO19 1DP, England
01243 781751
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“You know what you're going to get. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Eaten here many times and never been disappointed. The food is always tasty and well cooked. Service varies a bit but last Saturday the young lady that served us was very pleasant. The decor is getting a bit tired and grubby I think but with a 2 course lunch for 9.50 you can't go wrong. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    25
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I went there on the 29th of January with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. The manager and the waiter (Tom) were very friendly and very attentive. The food came promptly and hot.
We had a very good experience and definetly will come back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walton on thames
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Do they actually want customers?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Went there yesterday for an early dinner (at 5.20). There was only one table occupied. We were asked if we had booked and when we said we hadn't we were told (after checking with the manager who was eating) that they had no free table til 9.30. I expressed disbelief that every table was going to be occupied in the next hour as most people would book for 7.30 or 8pm (although a few tables were set out for a party, there were many others free). I can't understand why they would turn away customers as if they were an inconvenience. I have used the Weybridge branch many times and found the staff there to be very accommodating. I will not be visitng this branch again, even with discount vouchers.There are much better restaurants nearby.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very poor service and lack of friendliness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spend yesterday at the café Rouge after our visit to cinema. Had been to CR before and were disappointed then. Has not improved! We had 2 vouchers that is really why we went back.
Waitress was the worst I have met for years.No idea about how to provide a nice service. Does the business only harm. Not interested at all.
My wife's food was OK what can go wrong with moules and frites. I had the worst Burger ever. Totally dried out and thinner than Mc Donalds. We will never go back that's for sure. One plus point my French onion soup was nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford Kent
1 review
“Very average new year's eve meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

While the service was fast (too fast?) we had a fairly desultory new year's eve meal here (2013). Not sure we were welcome yet paying the same prices as every other night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Chichester also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge - Chichester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.