We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge - Chichester - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge - Chichester
30 Southgate, Chichester PO19 1DP, England
01243 781751
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

nice and clean very slow srevice friendly staff nice table arrangement sadly the starter was not very good, tasted of grit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    25
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“OK meal - neither very good or very bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Popped into Chichester for lunch with family. Had a reasonable meal here. The food could have been better but was fine. The staff were friendly. Bill could have been cheaper. Wouldn't complain but neither would I recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst meal in a long time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Despite a friendly waitress who was obviously doing her best, the starter took an hour to arrive, the 4 mains arrived half an hour apart and my pasta consisted of chunks of uncooked garlic in milk and butter. We were not charged for my meal but still paid £30 for a very poor meal out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice staff ,terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Chichester Cafe Rouge, Good Friday March 13, why did I not remember how poor this chain can be. Staff greeting absolutely lovely, but not enough of them, two! Ordered a mushroom and cheese omelette, half an hour later received a rubber frisbee with mushrooms, overcooked within an inch of its life. Whole experience took over hour and half, ridiculous. Coffee received and consumed before dire fruit crumble. Other halfs chicken baguette was ok. To be fair I was refunded the cost of my food but its not really the point. There is another bistro down the road think I will try that next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, welcomed with a smile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I frequent this cafe a lot as I work in chichester. I find the service to always be friendly and the food tasty. I would not hesitate to recommend to friends or family.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Chichester also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge - Chichester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.