We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and friendly hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooks Hill Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chichester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rooks Hill Guest House
Save
You added Rooks Hill Guest House to your Saves list
Lavant Road, Chichester po18 0bq, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 73 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service and friendly hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were a party of five; two couples and one single, attending a wedding in the area. Rooks Hill Guest House was recommended by the wedding venue owners at Upwaltham Barns

The accommodation was first class and ideal for what we needed. Between us we took the two self-contained apartments for up to two weeks, plus three nights B&B

Lin and Ron were friendly and welcoming, but left us very much to our own devices which suited us well. They were helpful and informative and made us feel very much at home

Rooks Hill is a delightful property and its restoration is to a very high standard. Accommodation is comfortable and well appointed with very attractive furnishings

We highly recommend Rooks Hill, without hesitation, as a superb guest house of high quality. We would happily stay there again

Room Tip: The self-contained apartments are perfect for couples or small families with first class facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
74
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Room was a touch cold but lovely bedding made up for that. Great breakfast. Pic attached of breakfast. Also gastro pub right across the road is excellent making this a great place to come for a weekend escape.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

just returned from a 3 night stay, Rooks Hill is as wonderfull as ever, however Lin and Ron make it extra special, from the tea and cake on arrival, to the wonderful breakfasts- I think Lins could be even better than Rons and his take some beating!!

Ron and Lin MAKE Rookshill , it is like home from home, immaculate and yet so cosy and then to have the wonderful Earl of March literally across the road, - you might think you are in heaven!!! Thanks Ron and Lin for making us feel like old friends. Ruth and Frank

Room Tip: all rooms are as good as each other,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a great place & we would love to return. The accommodation was first rate but what makes it was the PEOPLE, We were welcomed by Ron with tea and Lin looked after us every morning with the most first rate breakfasts. We did not want to leave & would recommend it to anyone.
Thanks Lin & Ron for having a great place, one of the best.

Room Tip: The Lavant suit must be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you very much for the lovely couple of nights I had at Rooks Hill. I have nothing but complementary things to say about your lovely B&B.

When I made my reservation over the telephone, Ron pointed out that eateries book up really quickly in Chichester on Saturday evenings. I thought this was really thoughtful of him to mention this as I think I would have ended up being very hungry. I ensured I had supper before I travelled.

Everything from the high standard of cleanliness, the delicious breakfast, the modern and sophisticated decor, to the lovely relaxed and welcoming atmosphere made my stay thoroughly enjoyable. For many reasons, I usually find it difficult to relax in hotels and B&B accommodation but I was blown away with Rooks Hill and I'd love to return.

I'm going to recommend your accommodation to my friends and colleagues.

Take care.

Eileen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This b&b is fantastic, we stayed in a 4 star hotel after our 3 nights in Rooks Hill and found ourselves wishing we were back at Rooks Hill! The rooms are beautifully decorated and are immaculate. Ron and Lin are fantastic hosts and made our stay so comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and there is a great restaurant/pub just opposite the b&b. We will definatley be returning.....thanks Ron and Lin!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Many thanks for a lovely two day break. The room was beautifully presented and the full english breakfast suberb! Ron and Lin very kindly accommodated my bike (although I wonder if it might have had more protection fom the rain in the garage rather than the yard!) and an early breakfast and made us feel very at home. And the perfect pub across the road is the icing on the cake. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rooks Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooks Hill Guest House

Address: Lavant Road, Chichester po18 0bq, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooks Hill is a beautiful grade II listed country house with three individually designed en-suite bedrooms and two luxury self catering apartments,combining traditional character with contemporary luxury. Situated at the foot of the South Downs and only 2 miles from the historic city of Chichester and Glorious Goodwood. Awarded AA 5 yellow stars, highly commended. A very warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooks Hill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.