We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Goodwood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chilgrove Farm Bed & Breakfast

Chilgrove Farm Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chilgrove Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Chilgrove Farm Bed & Breakfast
Chilgrove, Chichester PO18 9HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 74 Chichester B&B and Inns
colwyn bay
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for Goodwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location of the B&B was down a quiet country lane but walkable distance to the local pub and restaurant. It was perfect for the Goodwood Festival.
Simon the owner was very welcoming and happy to give advice on local area. Our room was in the main house. It was very large, light and airy with views of the countryside. The large comfortable bed had crisp, white linen. En suite had a bath and large power shower although be careful it does not overflow the shower tray as the water is slow to go down the plughole. Don't expect Molton Brown products in the bathroom.
We slept very well but beware of noisy early morning birds.If you are a light sleeper you may wish to shut the windows. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.
Breakfast was fairly basic and was ordered on arrival. A choice of juice and yoghurts would have been nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful area. Clean decent rooms and bathrooms. Only drawback not having adjoining rooms for guests with children. Simon a delightful host and lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Once again we spent a delightful time at Simon's. Cannot recommend his B & B enough. So clean, so quiet, well located, so comfortable. Plus Plus Plus. Do go and stay there if you're visiting near Chichester and are looking for somewhere great to stay - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Either Room 1 or Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Croydon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Excellent B&B - room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom facilities first class. Breakfast was lovely and host very pleasant and informative of the area. My only tip would be, the B road that this property is on is a little further than the directions lead you to believe. So don't be tempted down a side lane, which will take you on an ever narrowing farm track and leave you wondering, if like us you happen to be in a rather low sports car, if you're going to be able to get out or not! We couldn't even blame the Sat nav as we had been told not to use it and still went down the track! So if coming from Midhurst, hold your nerve and settle for nothing less than the B road!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at Chilgrove for a family party and the entire experience was excellent. The room (Room 1) was huge as other reviewers have said, and the bathroom was lovely with ample toiletries. Everything was excellent quality and it was one of the best nights sleep we have ever had. The setting is also lovely with excellent walks around. The breakfast and post-breakfast chat with Simon were also wonderful. Not the cheapest B&B we have ever stayed in, but probably the best value for money. 5plus out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Lovely room, friendly and helpful host in a beautiful setting. The room was very large with a comfortable king size bed and sofa. The bathroom also had a walk in shower. Everything perfect!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Before we booked, we read all the reviews and were not disappointed. This is a lovely place in beautiful countryside and is perfectly located for all that is on offer in West Sussex. Our room was huge and spotless with everything we needed. The bed was lovely, a Vi Spring, so excellent quality. The bathroom was large with a bath and a separate "wet room" style shower which was great. Simon, the owner, was the perfect host. He was interesting and great to talk to during breakfast. You felt that he genuinely liked talking to you and really wanted to ensure that you had an excellent stay. We would definitely go again. Back to reality now!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chilgrove Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilgrove Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Chilgrove, Chichester PO18 9HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chilgrove Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilgrove Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.