We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chichester Cathedral

Chichester Cathedral
Cathedral Green, Chichester PO19 1PX, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Attractions in Chichester
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Hook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A worthwhile visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was lucky with my timing of my visit to the cathedral, not only did I have a tour guide to myself but also 3 trainees, all making my visit memorable.
Interestingly I needed more time than I expected for the visit, as I also included the gardens, cloisters etc, none should be missed
There was a free and very enjoyable lunchtime concert, found through an easily accessible website
My third visit of the day was to evensong, a glorious end to my Chichester visit

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    153
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Religious or not - it doesn't matter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have been to Chichester on at least four occasions in twenty years and have included the beautiful and well maintained Cathedral on each occasion. To experience peace and tranquility one can sit inside and take in the splendour or outside and just watch as other people busy through their day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Chagall window”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Pop into Chichester Cathedral to see some amazing examples of twentieth century art. The most beautiful of all has to be the fabulous stained glass window by Marc Chagall. It jewel colours and fluid shapes are truly stunning!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“See the Chagall Window”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a beautiful cathedral, not austere like many. The tapestries are worth spending time looking at. Best of all is the richly coloured Chagall window. You can enjoy the calming atmosphere of this building even when it's full of visitors and if you're not religious.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Interesting and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We took time during a recent visit to Chichester to visit the gardens and interior of the cathedral. Impressive to say the least, beautifully maintained, lovely stain glass windows, very vibrant on a sunny afternoon. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chichester Cathedral also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Chichester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chichester Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.