We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cote Brasserie - Chichester

Cote Brasserie - Chichester
63 South Street, Chichester PO19 1EE, England (Formerly Cote Brasserie)
01243 528 894
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 177 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
chichester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited Cote just two weeks after it opened. It was incredibly busy for a midweek (possibly because it was running a promotion on its a la carte menu).

Food was well presented and cooked. Lots of choice -- offering standard French brasserie fare -- although you might struggle if you are a veggy who doesn't eat fish. Our waiter was very young, but courteous and knew the menu well.

My starter salad was tasty, if miniscule. The moules were large and juicy. Nothing spectacular but good.

All in all a good addition to the town, which will definitely give some of the other chains a run for their money.

My only gripe is that it can be a bit depressing to think that the only businesses which can afford to open in Chichester town centre are large chains such as the one which owns Cote and Bill's.

However, that's one for another day!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    125
    46
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had lunch at Cote yesterday with my daughters. I read the previous reviews and heard by word of mouth that this was an amazing place to eat. I was disappointed by the food... it was just okay. Reasonably priced and nice surroundings... also staff very pleasent and attentive. Maybe my expectations were too high. There is a good selection of better (in my opinion) restaurants in Chichester... Woodies and Brasserie Blanc to name just two of them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Is this the best steak in Chichester? – you decide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Newly opened and I have to say they have got everything right – service is spot on and the menu wide ranging with some highlights particularly the steak – competitive weekday lunch, early evening menu and weekend special menus from £9.95 with very good steak frites – give it a try…

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Early dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had an early supper here before going onto a concert in Portsmouth. The man who made my booking was very good and fitted us in even though they were busy. Staff were very attentive and cannot praise them enough. We chose the fixed 2 course menu for £9.95 and the mussels were tasty, but the main I wanted was sold out. My companion said the risotto was nice but a bit solid and my coq au vin was very good. I hate having to pay a 12.5% service charge as I would rather tip as I think fit, so bit annoyed there. All in all a decent meal with excellent service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good start!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Cote, New to Chichester at the end of February and already the place to go for good food and great service. Will certainly be going back for another meal but this time from the main menu having tried the 2 or 3 course specials twice now it's time to move on and up! On the downside it is little noisy but that's it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cote Brasserie - Chichester also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Cote Brasserie - Chichester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cote Brasserie - Chichester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.