We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a shabby chic setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bill's Restaurant

Bill's Restaurant
The Buttermarket | North Street, Chichester PO19 1LQ, England
+44 1243 528607
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 189 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bill's Chichester restaurant is upstairs in the Butter Market, a Grade II listed building in the centre of this historic cathedral city. Bright, light and airy, the restaurant has two entrances and a lift.
Sevenoaks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food in a shabby chic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Bill's restaurant in Chichester is on the first floor of the Old Butter Market building although they have a small tea room on the ground floor.
The restaurant is decorated in a 'shabby chic' style. The menu is limited but changes the seasons.I had the Bill's fish pie that was as good as any I have eaten.My wife had the Bill's burger and said it was excellent.For pudding we had creme brûlée that was very rich and creamy.Their Bill's Beer was brewed by a well known Sussex brewery and is well worth drinking.
I am told that the vegetarian options are popular and well thought out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    127
    49
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Oh dear BIG disappointment :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Oh dear what a disappointment ...... We went here on a Sunday about 3.00pm, I immediately loved the decor, you could almost feel the upbeat atmosphere of the upmarket Meatpacking district of New York, the staff were very attentive and polite, our starter of prawns along with an order of garlic bread, was very good indeed, however our order of burger and chips twice had been forgotten, we waited and waited, then our dessert was brought out. We told the waiter we had not had our main, very quickly the two burgers arrived, we should have returned them as they were both cold in the middle and the topping of bacon must have barely seen the stove as it was cold also and pale. We were very hungry due to the long wait so unfortunately for us we both ate our burgers but left the cold centre of the burger and after one taste of the bacon we knew not to have that either. Around 6to 8 hours later we were both very poorly indeed, cramps in the stomach, severe bloating and diarrhoea ......even the great decor and lovely waiting staff could not entice us back..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always on top form!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We've been to Bill's for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the quality of the food and service is always great. There are so many tables too so you're pretty much guaranteed a table without having to book. It's a nice addition to the more commercial chain restaurants which seem to dominate Chichester's high street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reassuringly Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have been to Bill's on a number of occasions since it opened in the old Butter Market building. Conveniently situated in the centre of Chichester and close to where I live. The restaurant offers a relatively familiar menu but with characteristic features and usually tempting specials. The menu also shift with seasons and the all-day diner converts well into a shabby chic environment for evening dining. Service has been good on all visits and the meals suitably satisfying. My partner particularly enjoys the Bill's Caesar salad whilst I recommend the fish pie as a hearty dish. Bill's desserts and Brownie shake are particularly tempting and although on this latest visit we were only able to grab a quick meal (for which we received great service), on previous occasions I have enjoyed the sour cherry sundae. Bill's Bloody Mary is also thoroughly recommended. I have really enjoyed my meals at Bill's and, in part thanks to the quality of service on my last visit it has been a pleasure to recognise this asset to Chichester's centre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a brilliantly designed bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The service and food were fantastic. The pink French soda was perfect and the haloumi and red hummus burger was really tasty. Very tempting to buy the goodies on offer, but will order online instead!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill's Restaurant also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Bill's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.