We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boat House

The Boat House
Chichester
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roger S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Perfect little getaway! Fantastic and modern cottage with all the perks. We felt very at home from the moment we arrived in this remote getaway. Loved the fire place and the views.
A car is needed to get to the beach (and pub).
Great value for money
Looking forward to heading back again
Cheers
Roger & Nat S

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boat House sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
r0sierevi...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury cottage with all the finishing touches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here in October and had a great stay. Upon arrival we were really impressed with the level of attention to detail on every aspect of the building. No expense spared to say the least. The kitchen is kitted out with Miele appliances, with everything from roasting trays to lettuce spinners! Therefore, if you like to cook when you are away - this is the place to stay!

The cottage was kitted with mood lighting, which we definitely made use of (lighting up different areas of the downstairs accommodation to suit you) and the bathroom has to be seen to be believed! Fantastic views across the rolling fields with a bath big enough for more than one ;) The bedroom was a relaxing haven, with a balcony attached (the electric shutter/blackout blind was rather good!). The balcony wasn't as private as you would have hoped at first glance, but when sat at the table it was fine, with a nice view of the driveway and front garden. The owners also kept themselves to themselves, but left a good level of information about the area, walks, sightseeing etc so we didn't need to look far to explore the area.

Overall a great, relaxing stay with lots to keep you occupied in the cottage and even more in the surrounding area. Would recommend the Ship Inn (20-25 minute walk from the property), but book in advance just in case!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The luxury feel
Liked least: No visitors book to poke a nose at ;)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jason H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic stay in a beautifully renovated boat house - perfect for a weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My partner and I wanted a long weekend away and the boat house was exactly what we were after; Perfect for a couple and beautifully furnished, I couldn't recommend the place more.

The location was great - ten minutes outside of Chichester, two minutes to the local village Itchenor, and the sandy beaches of the Witterings' are only a five minute drive away.

Very happy.

One thing I would recommend is anybody that plans to arrive in the hours of darkness find out EXACTLY where the boat house is before arriving and take a torch. The postcode into a satnav device isn't sufficient for locating the place in the dark as street lighting is non-existent.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Find the property in the dark
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. They were most constructive. We are now reviewing the directions which we send out and also the lack of external lighting at the Boat House especially now winter is approaching.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
John D
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A luxurious, idyllic and romantic Hi Tec accomadation. Did not want to leave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have booked good cottages in the past that always failed to live up to the description but The Boathouse was exactly as advertised and exceeded all expectations.
From the beautiful kitchen with its wine fridge and coffee maker to the amazing bath room.
I have never had a bath with a view before, you can just make out boat masts in the distance at Itchenor harbour. Put on the little blue lights, light the candle, lay back and enjoy the view then retire to the balcony with a glass of
great wine and watch the shooting stars! Wonderful stay!
We would love to return.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: unwiding with a bottle of wine on the balcony every night wishing we didnt have to come home.
Liked least: No way of making ice for the all important G and T!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
paul05731...
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“flatters to deceive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here just before Christmas 2012 and had a few problems but on the whole had nice break.
Unfortunately this time I cannot say the same. The people who own the property have changed agents and my wife's first engagement with the new agent was when she got a call on her mobile at 17.25 Friday evening whilst on the motorway, from a lady asking where she was as she wanted to go home and all her other tenants had arrived? My wife explained she was stuck in traffic and as informed in an email she had to be at the office before 19.00. She actually got there at 19.07 and was greeted with a £15 late fee charge...not off to a good start.

The agent also started telling my wife that she had been having problems with the property and previous tenants nearly had to call the fire brigade in the night due to a burning smell. This really worried my wife as last time we stayed we had power cuts all the time.

We arrived and the property was lovely but not as clean. My wife had to put the cutlery and some bowls through the dishwasher and last time the fridge had a few bits, milk butter bacon and bread but this time nothing. I stay in hotels every week and even the cheapest have coffee ,tea and milk so you can wake up to a cuppa, and as the rental here is not cheap this little extra would not go a miss.

Also we had to use the bath for three days as even though the shower looks great we could not control temperature and was scalding.....

On the whole we had a nice time but would not go back. Once home my wife received an email saying our deposit had been deducted as they had to launder 3 extra towels which we supposedly used,,, we didn't even know the property had extra towels so that was untrue, also the agent said that the bed linen had a mark and the tea towel had stains on too, and to top it off the agent said we dropped the keys off late. On arrival my wife asked what time we had to vacate the property and was told by the agent....."anytime Monday, as its a bank holiday my cleaners are not going in till Tuesday!!!!!,

My wife sent an email to the lady who deals with bookings and explained about the problems but this fell on deaf ears so no we won't recommend or revisit.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: lovely balcony to sit and have a morning coffee
Liked least: too many posh gadgets that look goid but do not work properly
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jonathan...
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property, furnished to the highest standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Boat House in November and could honestly not find a single fault with our stay. The property is furnished to an extremely high standard throughout, with underfloor heating, ambient lighting, wine fridge and Italian wool bathrobes just a few of the touches which make this house just that extra bit special.

The owners and manager of the property were thoroughly accommodating, allowing us to check in/out when we wanted to and answering any queries or requests which we had (such as supplying firelighter tablets for the log burner).

Would highly recommend to anyone planning a trip to the Chichester area.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
michele19...
iver bucks
1 review
“fantastic place to stay just didnt want to leave.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I normally stay in hotels but decided to try out the boat house as something different needless to say I won't be going back to hotels when staying in the chichester area again. The boat house is fabulous, it has every little luxury you could wish for. As we stayed in December we made good use of the log burner but we are going back in May so look forward to using the bbq if the weather is nice! The bathroom is amazing, luxury bath robes and towells with a bath surrounded by little blue lights overlooking the superb views. The bed is huge with lovely cotton sheets and a balcony where I sat and had my morning coffee! I have no negatives about the stay just can't wait to go back!! And I must say the lady that looks after the property "penny" was so accommodating, she went out of her way even ringing me with directions. A truly wonderful weekend...

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the location of the property
Liked least: unable to say as loved every little thing..
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$218
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Christine M
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2012
Response Rate: 35 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 4 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing