We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean spartan no frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Chichester Emsworth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Chichester Emsworth to your Saves list
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
A27 Eastbound, Chichester PO10 7RB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Gloucester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Clean spartan no frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

A pleasant welcome from staff who very helpful. The room was spotless although the lack of a comfy chair and no wall hangings give it a very institutional feel. It's situated in a service station off the A27 and if you pop out you have to do a minimum five mile loop to get back. OK for a cheap overnight if you're catching an early ferry.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    33
    37
    24
See reviews for
46
45
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pakenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Only access is from the eastbound A27 so useful if you are travelling west to east. Unfortunately I wasn't and this involved a 16 mile detour and a 45 minute traffic delay simply to "turn right".

Also the Little chef have closed down to no hot food

The room was adequate and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The location is handy for Chichester and the rooms are fine, although pretty hot because there is no air conditioning and the hotel is next to a dual carriageway making it noisy if you have the window open. The staff are also particularly helpful. However, if you need any food you need to raid the local garage because the Little Chef attached to the hotel closed two years ago and no one has bothered to take the signs down.

I don't usually eat in these sorts of places anyway and I would strongly advise a jaunt down the road into historic Chichester which has some good restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Friendly presentable staff who really seemed to care that we enjoyed our stay. One of the best Travelodges we have stayed at for an overnight pit-stop, although not the easiest to find - possibly, we took the wrong exit from the main road. A shame there was no-where for breakfast as the Little Chef had recently closed. There are places nearby - or take emergency rations!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just had a 4 night stay at this Travelodge, very welcoming and friendly staff from Terrie/Ken on reception ,through to the staff who looked after my room especialy stacey who did a great job of looking after my room all the staff would go out of their way to help you in anyway they could to make sure i had everything i needed to make my stay as comfortable as possible hope to return soon

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just had the pleasure of staying in this Travelodge and cannot speak highly enough of the staff, from Terrie on Reception right through to the Housekeeping team of Lisa and Rachael. They were friendly, efficient and extreely welcoming, taking time from their busy schedules to make sure that I had everything I needed to make my stay comfortable and even had time for a brief chat.

I stay in Travelodge's all around the UK and this is up there in the top 10 as far as I am concerned.

Brilliant staff !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay and as it is a travel lodge my expectations were not high and so I was pleasantly surprised at the standard and the staff were very friendly and polite! Our beds were nicely made, clean and comfy and tea and coffee supplied! If you want upmarket accommodation then you just know a travel lodge isn't going to cut the mustard....you get what you pay for and I felt we got good value for money! I don't know what some people expect for a cheap bed for the night... Reviewers are correct though...you cannot turn right out of the exit and you do have a bit of a long drive to a roundabout but the saving you make on the cost is worth it if you want a cheap bed for the night!

Room Tip: We were in room 5 on the ground floor which was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Chichester Emsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chichester Emsworth

Address: A27 Eastbound, Chichester PO10 7RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Chichester Emsworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth Hotel Chichester
Travel Lodge Chichester
Chichester Travel Lodge
Chichester Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Chichester Emsworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.