We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Greenhouse

The Old Greenhouse
82 Fishbourne Road West, Chichester PO19 3JL, England
+44 7854 051013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 189 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: $23 - $70
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: A small 16 cover restaurant in a converted greenhouse on the main road in Fishbourne West Sussex.The restaurant is only open for pre booked tables. Ideal as a private dining room. We offer a 3 course menu,that is updated daily and can incorporate your own favourite dishes, this is priced at £32.50 Inc coffee.We also open for "diary date" events such as mussels,lasagne,gourmet dinners,Local and wild food events. For details of these please e mail Nik. We are not a grand restaurant, the emphasis is on delivering a quality and where possible locally sourced meal in an intimate and imaginative way. Nik Westacott Chef and owner has over 30 years experience in the restaurant sector and now runs the adjoining four star bed and breakfast 82 Fishbourne and a busy outside catering business.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We held a private dinner party here to celebrate my parents diamond wedding anniversary. Nic provided us with a thoughtfully prepared menu, catering well for the various tastes and appetites of our group. The ambience was delightful, and the food excellent. Nik is a perfect host, courteous and efficient. He charmed us all! Everyone was full of praise for the evening and we would definitely recommend the old greenhouse unreservedly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    10
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Private dining 19 May 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was not our first visit to The Old Greenhouse as we have been several times before for family celebrations and also for some of the events held during the year. For this occasion we went as a family for private dining. As always Nik was the perfect host. Nothing is too much trouble, special dietary requirements catered for and super food as always. If you are looking for private dining for up to 16 I could not recommend this highly enough. Nik will provide excellent food, locally sourced (and sometimes hand foraged!) where possible and always of a very high standard. We had a lovely evening largely due to Nik's attentiveness to our every need.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“60th Birthday celebration dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Faultless!!! Nik helped me arrange a surprise dinner party for 16 friends and family for my wifes 60th birthday.Nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent and the service provided by Nik and his staff was second to none. He helped us make it a perfect evening HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unusual venue with good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

Nik the owner used to have the much missed Platters restaurant in Chichester. He now has an excellent B&B and 'Old Greenhouse' eaterie.
This is quite a small intimate place to eat. I don't think you can book it on the 'off chance' you need to be aware of when Nik is doing his special nights by signing up to his newsletter or his mobile site - mobile.82Fishbourne.co.uk
The food is well cooked and can range from the basic to the quite complex. Have been to both and were very enjoyable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Greenhouse also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Old Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Greenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.