We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking something !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Barleycorn

The Barleycorn
Main Road, Chichester, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 189 Restaurants in Chichester
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lacking something !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My Wife had been meaning to try this place for some time as we are fresh fish lovers but oh dear !. Something is defiantly missing here & I'm afraid to say it may be atmosphere. Admittedly it was a Wednesday evening & quiet but the fresh fish menu alone is far too big. I cannot see how they could have everything on the menu & the fact they only had one chef on tells me they are not expecting a crowd of people to arrive. The silence was only broken by the sound of a radio playing everywhere & what I believe to be the Landlady & chef arguing with each other. The Crab Bisque starter was good although the roll was in a world of its own with its friend the butter pat but alas the Sea Bass fillet was over cooked and the accompanying vegetables looked like the creation of the guy in Close Encounters. All in all a disappointing visit for food, but if you want Fawlty Towers type entertainment then this is the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    6
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rude Landlord”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had Sunday lunch here today. The vegetables were so tough we couldn't eat them! Complained to the Landlord & he said 'That's how we like them & u r the first to complain'. Did not like his attitude so we won't go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic value carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We usually come on Sundays for the lovely carvery. As well as the usual roasts, there's often a tasty casserole or pie. The seating area is comfortable, with lots of room. Service fr drinks etc is good and unhurried. Prices very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Top Notch food; small portions, but fine for us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It would appear to be a mainly fish menu, but some various meat and several steaks. I had an excellent birthday meal there last night. It was more 'restaurant menu' than pub menu, although they also had a lunchtime bar menu which we were offered to order from if we so wished. I opted for just a starter - having a very small appetite, a crab meat parcel wrapped in smoked salmon which was to die for! Other half's main course fillet steak melted in the mouth, but the only criticism was that his vegetables were almost non-existent - a slice of courgette (which he doesn't like anyway) a bit of asparagus and a 'really baby' carrot; he does like his vegetables, so that part of it was a bit disappointing. We shall return for a 'treat ourselves' meal occasionally, even if not for birthdays/anniversaries etc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well we visited the next day and no problems!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Barleycorn has really turned around and it is clean, attractive and cheerful. We had Ham Egg and Chips (£7.50) for lunch and it was perfect! Excellent thick slices of home cooked ham, two nice fresh eggs (they keep their shape) and good hot chips. The place was fullish with a coachload of walkers ( surely some mistake there?).
Sorry we always go for the cheap options but that is what sometimes shows the care put into the ingredients.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barleycorn also viewed

 
Englefield Green, Surrey
 

Been to The Barleycorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barleycorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.