We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, tranquil stay ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chichester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodstock House Hotel
Charlton Road, Chichester PO18 0HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 68 Chichester B&B and Inns
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, tranquil stay ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable and tranquil 5-night stay in the detached Cottage room, while attending an art course at the nearby Weald & Downland Open Air Museum.

The hotel owner had the rare gift of being wecoming without being effusive or intrusive - which we always appreciate when staying away from home. The location of Reception and all electrical switches in the room were obvious to anyone with a modicum of common sense, and breakfast was consistently well-cooked and tasty, with good-quality ingredients. Despite the persistent rain during our stay the electric heated towel rail and bedroom heater kept us warm and dry throughout - with manual controls that were simple to use and understand. We particularly appreciated the little internal lobby in the Cottage, for hanging up our wet waterproofs and drying our boots!

This is a small private hotel in a fantastic rural location, with comfortable homely accommodation that sits well with its natural surroundings. It has a nice guest lounge, with bar that can be opened by request. High-tech city hotel with masses of staff it definitely is not, and anyone expecting this will be disappointed. The quality bed and bedding, along with the tranquility, gave us the best sleep we have had in ages and we came away feeling nicely refreshed.

Comments have been made by previous contributors about value for money. We would like to point out that the area in which this hotel is located has always been an horrendously expensive one all round, and always will be. Put in this context, the hotel compares favourably with other establishments nearby. On previous trips to the area we have stayed in local pubs which are similarly priced but lack both a peaceful ambience and a comfy guest lounge to sit in when not in the bar or pub garden.

We would definitely stay at the Woodstock House Hotel again, and recommend it to our family and friends. If you go, take a torch with you because there is no street lighting outside of the village centre.

Room Tip: The ground floor detached Cottage room is wonderfully peaceful and of good size. If mobility is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
40
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I found this bed and breakfast accommodation via the internet . What a pleasant surprise - a wonderful setting,deep in the countryside, yet within easy reach of Chichester. Our room was very comfortable and everything was provided. The house is lovely,well-furnished and with a lovely garden. Breakfasts in the conservatory overlooking the garden were excellent - my eggs were poached to perfection and the ingredients tasted so fresh and wholesome. Our hostess was most helpful and welcoming. we were in chichester for the Festival Theatre and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Woodstock House Hotel and i must say we were a little sceptical after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor but i must say i cannot fault our stay from start to finish. Quaint, homely,welcoming, warm, good location lovely propriater. We were welcomed by a beautiful old house which really was charming with a lovely open fire, our room was a lovely size with all vacilities that we were expecting although it wasnt cold the heating was on so the room was really cosy. The lady owner could not have been more attentive, her breakfast was mouth-watering with everything you could possibly wish for, all the cereals you could think of, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice, nothing was forgotten and the cooked breakfast was also stunning and really tasty, again with all what you would expect from a cooked breakfast and more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here recently, due to its proximity to Goodwood house. After a long drive, this hotel was a sight for sore eyes indeed. Nestled deep in the downs this hotel really matches its surroundings, and although to my taste a little dated, it really does have a quaint charm about it. A delicious breakfast was devoured and served by a friendly young girl who was happy to sort anything that we required. Check in and check out was swift and friendly, and thankfully you could come and go as you please, as many B&B's these days seem to have reserectted the kurfew! The only reason for a four and not a five was the rather "run round and get wet shower" but this did not really take from a great stay, and congrats to the owners for investing in quality mattresses, as great couple of nights sleep too boot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very good breakfast - great eggs, friendly, quick service.
Early start (breakfast before 9am).
Very pretty garden, nice room, clean, comfortable, private.
Beautiful location.
I would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic friendly service! Brilliant breakfast, which was cooked before the alotted time, as we had an early start! Lovely location! You would have to be an idiot not to find reception! Overal a really nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I use the Woodstock on a regular basis when I am on business in the area. In actual fact, I have done so for some six years. I also bring clients and colleagues here from Holland. The warm greeting afforded by the lady owner is genuine and sincere. The charm and quaintness of the eighteenth century premises is refreshing, as most "corporate" hotels these days are sterile and reception is manned by a computer operator. The rooms are very clean and the quality of the beds and linen is exceptional. I find that nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is good, honest food, well cooked and presented. The local pubs within easy walking distance provide a good wholesome dinner and good beer. Just the place to stay after a long drive and a days work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodstock House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock House Hotel

Address: Charlton Road, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodstock House is family run and was converted from a farm house to a hotel in the 1940’s providing a fantastic base for walking groups to explore the South Downs and the other many local attractions. Chichester’s festival theatre and shopping centre, is only a ten minute drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Chichester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstock House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Woodstock House Hotel to your Saves list