We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality but poor choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Birdham Road, Chichester PO20 7EH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good quality but poor choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend over the August Bank holiday and were looking forward to a few days of delicious food. However during our entire stay the menu didn't change, we had booked for DBB and found our choice to be very limited unless we payed a supplement (averaging £3). I had the same starter every evening and my husband also found the choices to be very limited - there was no anticipation or excitement of our evening meal come the last night!!

The food that we did have was delicious and all the staff are extremely efficient and friendly.

Also beware booking an executive room if you want a decent shower. Our room had a spa bath with a hand shower attached, however there was no screen and due to the sloping ceiling you could not stand up. The spa bath was very uncomfortable due to the deep ridges on the base of the bath.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrouchersCrouchers, Owner at Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Discerning59_11
Thank you for your honest review . I am pleased you enjoyed the food and had good service from our staff.The truth is that our menus can be limiting at times when you are booked including an evening meal , especially if only ordering from the ala carte menu . Your feedback has promted a change and we now have more choice and less supplements on the half board menu. The menu has 9 starter choices ( 2 surcharge items) , 8 main courses ( 2 surcharge items) and 8 desserts excuding cheese. The room you stayed in has spa bath although not my favourite this is an option some of our guests do ask for. Our other exec rooms all have bath and shower . We appreciate your comments and have noted them for the future .
Best Regards
Lloyd van Rooyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    104
    26
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
166
29
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night and were impressed by the quality of the rooms, service and food. Our room was bright, clean and comfortable. The staff were discreetly attentive and the evening meal we had was delicious followed by an equally fine breakfast. Would definitely recommend if visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrouchersCrouchers, Owner at Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Hanafin
We are very pleased to have received your review, Thank you . I am delighted we were able to impress you on all levels with our rooms , service and cuisine quality . It makes a big impact on my staff receiving positive reviews and gives them the motivation to keep up the good work .
Kind Regards
Lloyd van Rooyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We live locally and have dined here a couple of times at lunch time. Always greeted with a smile ,with impecable service. The food is great and the hotel interior stylish and welcoming with a modern twist.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrouchersCrouchers, Owner at Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Sharon-Katy
We enjoy seeing our local guests returning to our restaurant . This is very reassuring as there is a lot of choice for places to eat. We enjoy building a relationship with regular guests and look forward to seeing you in the restaurant again . Thank you for your review it is very well appreciated.
Best Regards
Lloyd van Rooyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A last minute booking over August Bank holiday. The staff were all very friendly. The rooms were well fitted and comfortable, there was a little traffic noise but not too distracting. The breakfast service was very good and the staff in the dining room were very efficient. The hotel is about three miles from the centre of Chichester. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrouchersCrouchers, Owner at Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Gill B
I noticed you have made a number of reviews, so thank you for spending the time to make a review on our hotel. I am happy you enjoyed your last minute stay and I hope you remember us next time you are down our way. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best Regards
Lloyd van Rooyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for quick few days off before a very busy schedule. The room was as advertised but the restaurant and quality of food is better than described. Chef showed excellent variation in selection and everything we had was prepared extremely well, portions of correct size and cooked exactly as requested.

Staff were knowledgeable about the hotel and the local surroundings so were able to act as tour guides.

Would we go back or recommend others to this hotel, without question, yes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrouchersCrouchers, Owner at Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Richard_Whitwell
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. My staff will always be on hand to ensure you have a great stay and a great meal in our restaurant.
Thanks you for the review and spending the time to make it.
Best Regards
Lloyd van Rooyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a lovely stay at crouchers. My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in a superior room which was £142 per night. With that we got a double room with modern furnishings and decor, modern bathroom, patio area outside our room with lovely view and breakfast. We had room 17 which is located separately from the hotel but is very close still. We enjoyed the free wifi, big tv and coffee/tea tray. I would say in summer the extra duvet on the bed isnt needed as it just ends up on the floor! We arrived 45 minutes after check in time, our room was not ready so we waited 15 mins in the bar area - not a problem. The lady in reception kindly bought our bags to the room. We had a lot of problems with getting stuck in traffic in Chichester, it happened all weekend. So I would suggest leaving early if you have plans. Breakfast was good. There is a selection of juices, fruits, meats, breads and the usual cooked options. The dinner menu was abit too fancy for us so we ate out. There was a large car park and even with a wedding on we did not find it hard to park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrouchersCrouchers, Owner at Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear lizabethK
Thank you for your very well written review . I know all to well that the traffic can get very busy in the height of summer and it is worth considering before heading out . It is great you enjoyed the room and breakfast.
Best Regards
Lloyd van Rooyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This Hotel was absolutely lovely! Nice light, clean room and bathroom, and the evening meal we had was amazing. I can highly recommend the scallops and tuna as a starter and the lamb and guinea fowl for main. Lovely restaurant and very helpful and child friendly.

Can't fault the service, very friendly, welcoming and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrouchersCrouchers, Owner at Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Ida G
The scallops and tuna is my favourite starter to date . It is wonderful that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. My restaurant and kitchen staff do put a lot into their jobs to make sure our customers get good food and good service .
Thanks so much for making the review .
Best Regards
Lloyd van Rooyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Birdham Road, Chichester PO20 7EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crouchers Hotel is an early 1900's farmhouse which has been converted to house 26 bedrooms in the outside coach house,barn and stables . The main house contains our oaked beamed restaurant , relaxing bar area and lounge. Our staff are always on hand to ensure you are well looked after . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crouchers Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Crouchers Country
Crouchers Country West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crouchers Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.