We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulls Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bulls Head to your Saves list
The Bulls Head
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   99 Fishbourne Road | Fishbourne, Chichester PO19 3JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 73 Chichester B&B and Inns
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“First Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Visited the Bulls Head on business for two nights, lovely room. I've paid a great deal more for a great deal less.
The hosts were very helpful. The Pub/Inn was full of character, meals were good and plentiful.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return. But do pay attention to the Check In Time. I managed to leave my charger for both my I-Pad and Phone, but the owners very kindly posted them on to me right away. Great Customer Care..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
20
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed just one night as this was not a pleasure trip, would definitely stay again, comfortable beds, well equipped bathroom, charming landlady and an epic breakfast. I look forward to a longer stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms behind the pub are quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at the Bulls Head as I had read such good reviews on the establishment. I wasn't disappointed.

The room I was allocated was actually located in a single-storey building which looked like converted stables. The room was extremely quiet and clean, and was equipped with all of the items you might expect in a 5* hotel.

The food and service at the Bulls Head were excellent. I can't state enough how superb the food was. Both the quality and quantity of food served made it not only great value for money, but I think it would be difficult to find somewhere else in the city that served such fantastic food.

The inside of the Bulls Head was extremely clean and well presented, and all of the staff with whom I had contact were delighted to be able to help and serve. The atmosphere in this 17th century property was friendly and charming. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Bulls Head, and hope to return there myself one day if I am ever in the vicinity of Chichester again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate annex are quiet and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

An average meal made special by a spectacularly rude waitress! Having ordered fish & salad, was brought fish and chips. When pointing out the error, the waitress snarled "why didn't you order that then!" The chips were then removed, leaving tiny salad garnish in their place. Was left starving. Thankfully had wonderfully friendly people on next table.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We only went in for a drink and dinner, so cannot comment on the accommodation.

This is a comfortable and cosy local pub, which presents a nice ambience as soon as you walk through the door. The beer is good and the menu offers plenty of choice of pub food. Our meals were very enjoyable and reasonably priced. If I were being picky, I did find the pastry on the homemade steak pie a little thick and heavy (crisp on the surface but a bit stodgy underneath), but the filling was excellent and we both enjoyed our meals.

The service was friendly, but I did feel that one of the two girls behind the bar lacked a little interest in what she was there for. For example, I was waiting to be served but she was busy doing nothing and had to be prompted by the other girl (who was pulling a pint for someone else). Also, a couple of the tables near us were not cleaned after the occupants had left – one having an empty crisp packet and spilt beer on it, while the other also has some remnants and wet beers rings – although he barmaid (I could only see one at this time) was unoccupied apart from leaning against the door behind the bar busily texting or playing on her ipad or mobile phone. When we left some half hour later (tables still not cleaned) I looked over and gave a cheery ‘goodnight’, but she was still too intent on jabbing at her ‘phone to acknowledge or wish us goodnight. Apart from this, it was a very pleasant pub for a few beers and a decent meal.

(PS. I understand that it has a new landlord, and he appeared behind the bar for a while during the evening. He looked the part, smartly dressed and appeared friendly and chatty to those at the bar. However, he wasn’t there all evening, and certainly not when we arrived or left when the barmaid was playing on her phone rather than clearing tables. If he had of been, I imagine she would have shown a little more interest in her job)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a fab meal at this typical old English pub today, good choice of food, which was delicious. Polite and pleasant service and with a new welcoming landlord and landlady, in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We loved this pub where it had fabulous accommodation facilities.

The food served for dinner and breakfast was excellent - sat near the fire - wonderful.

The bed mattress could have been a bit better, and the duvet was a little thick for us. But otherwise a great location and would come again when we are in this area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulls Head

Address: 99 Fishbourne Road | Fishbourne, Chichester PO19 3JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bulls Head 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bulls Head is a 17th Century converted farmhouse situated in the picturesque village of Fishbourne, West Sussex. The Bulls Head Fishbourne is an ideal location for business or pleasure, close to many top local attractions and a short distance to Portsmouth's Gunwarf Shopping, Spinnaker Tower and Historic DockyardA relaxing, comfortable, beamed pub that is famous for its good, promptly served, wholesome food (all freshly prepared and home cooked, with children's and smaller portions available), excellent real ales and quality wines. A warm and intimate atmosphere awaits you in this typically English Village Pub.Fishbourne is an ideal location to be based, whether for business or pleasure, five minutes by car to the centre of Chichester and thirty minutes to Portsmouth with its Historic Dockyard and great waterfront shopping. The Bulls Head is also close to many other popular attractions, including Fontwell, Fishbourne Roman Villa and Goodwood, famous for its Racecourse, the Goodwood Festival of Speed and the Goodwood Revival.The Bulls Head serves the best in cask conditioned real ales, with always five to choose from, Fullers London Pride, H.S.B and E.S.B along with other popular bottled and draught lagers, something for every taste bud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bulls Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulls Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.