We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy & Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vestry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Vestry to your Saves list
The Vestry
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   21 23 Southgate, Chichester PO19 1ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 73 Chichester B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Comfy & Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was a room above the pub, and a sizeable room at that! We were down the back of the pub so found it quiet, but I would think the rooms closer to the front could be a bit noisier. The rooms are clean and functional with nice big beds, plenty of space to put our large suitcases, and a large bathroom. This is an old building so don't expect state of the art modernity and you'll enjoy it. Situated just minutes walk up to The Cross memorial and also minutes from the Cathedral. The hotel does a deal with the car park owners at the rear and you get free parking from 6pm to 10am which worked out fine for our travels. The breakfast was included and was absolutely FAB! Full breakfast if you want it, plus cereals and yoghurts, etc. Can't praise it highly enough as it kept us going every day! We also ate there for one lunch and one dinner and both were really good, too. Excellent location for site-seeing Chichester. The only negative I'd mention for some people is that there is no lift and the stairs could be an issue for some, but for us it was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if you don't want noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    40
    17
    9
See reviews for
14
81
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a good experience. Helpful and friendly staff who provided an overnight car parking perm it, a quick check in and a large, warm, clean bedroom. Perhaps a llittle sparse and short of the homely touches but a cracking log fire in the bar area.

As others have commented this is a pub with rooms, and the staff are young and friendly but not always particularly skilled. But their intentions are good and they manage to create a good atmosphere.

It was a party night the night I arrived but I was not disturbed by any undue noise. A comfortable bed meant I slept through. At 65 pounds for the night incusive of VAT and breakfast this was good value for money and well within the business budget.

The location is superb. Straight out into the shopping centre and just 150 yards from the Cathedral.

Room Tip: Remember, this is a pub with rooms. But a friendly place with a great log fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

First of all, this is a pub with rooms, it's clearly stated on the Vestry website and on the confirmation email after booking. Thre are music nights which may keep you awake. We had no such problems staying in a deluxe double room at the back, which was HUGE. Big bed and jacuzzi in a big en sutie bethroom. The staff were helpful and friendly. Everything in the room was clean and well laid out. Lovely fluffy towels, very efficient heating which we didn't need to leave on overnight in December. If there's one small thing, maybe, the tiles in the bathroom could do with some new grouting in parts. All in all it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is centally located, very close to the cathedral buildings, shops restaurants. It's on a one way system so not easy to find the car park at the back,but staff helped us with this. For £95 it's certainly excellent value in terms of locatin and service. Once again, very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 10 is HUGE and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have stayed at The Vestry several times before and have never been disappointed. We use this B&B for both business and pleasure as it is in a fantastic location and very good value for money. We stayed in room 11 which is a decent size room with jaccuzzi. The only downside was the 4 poster bed. It wasn't a full 4 poster bed but a bed with a small post at each corner. This is not a criticism by any means though. I was expecting a full size 4 poster bed so this was just my interpretation. Breakfast the following morning was great. A wide choice of breakfast as always. The Vestry is always our first choice of accommodation when travelling to Chichester.

Room Tip: Room 11 is definitely the best room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Quite ridiculous amount of noise from a disco downstairs until after midnight. When we returned from an evening out we had to make our way thorough bouncers and fighting youths! Mass guest revolt from guests next morning but the lame response from the manager was 'the problem is reflected in the price of the room' (£95.00). They should decide whether they are a hotel or a nightclub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a night in Chichester and booked into The Vestry for somewhere to get our heads down. To be honest, I wasn't expecting anything other than a clean room. What a shock I had. Our room was quite superb, well appointed, large, clean, comfortable bed, big flat screen telly and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. Everyone made us so welcome and the girls in the bar made me one of the best Gunners I've ever had (and there's been a few of those!!). To cap it all we went down for breakfast and had a really superb gastronomic start to the day. A massive thanks to everyone. If I get any business near Chichester, I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Vestry is reasonable value, the room was large and the bed comfy, the location is good. However, The Vestry is at the heart of Chichester's pub scene. It cannot be described as a hotel, that is misleading. It is a pub with rooms above and as a result is not the most tranquil of locations. I stayed on a Friday, there was no chance of sleeping until 1am because of the noise outside, but I'm not an early to bed person so no problem for me. However others should be warned before booking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vestry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vestry

Address: 21 23 Southgate, Chichester PO19 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vestry 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Vestry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vestry Hotel Chichester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vestry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.