We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service but lovely pub” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Horse & Groom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Horse & Groom to your Saves list
The Horse & Groom
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   East Ashling, Chichester PO18 9AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 74 Chichester B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor service but lovely pub”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This pub is lovely inside and is in a great location but the customer service needs work. Despite the pub only being half full the staff seemed unable to cope, plates weren't cleared, sauces weren't provided and food/drinks were very slow to arrive. Also, despite specifically requesting a high chair when booking the table there wasn't one available when we arrived and we were told "we didn't know you were bringing a baby" and "well..they're all being used". Food was good when it arrived, but there was only one small bowl of veg between 3. The Staff's bad attitudes ruined our family meal out.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    11
    8
    11
See reviews for
7
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding and found the landlord to be really welcoming, ESP given that we were a large group of 30 somethings.

Rooms perfectly fine although sheets and blankets not adequate for weather and pillows could do with replacing.

Pub is lovely. So cosy and food Is nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Horse and Groom for 3 nights. We found the publican, his wife and all of the staff to be absolutley great. They were warm, approachable and happy to assist a couple of Aussies who had never been to West Sussex before. We paid full price for our accommodation and meals and did not resort to try and "blackmail" our host into getting a cheaper deal in return for a good report on Tripadvisor as I suspect other people have. I don't even mind mentioning that my name is Ken Mahon. I would recommend this fine establishment for accommodation and/or a meal. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The pub is ok but to stay overnight the landlady is a total nightmare, unfriendly , aggressive, unhelpful and should not be in the hospitality business. Like the other reviewers I would recommend that you do not stay here ever in your life . There are plenty of other places nearby that you will find to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseandgroomchef, Manager at The Horse & Groom, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for your review!!

We take our reviews very seriously.

I am sorry to hear that you wouldn't recommend our pub to anyone due to the landlady's attitude towards the general public.

I see that you posted 2 bad comments under different names?

“a terrible experience - the landlady is a nightmare”

“We were most disappointed and will never go back”

I will look into this review and add to the responce when I have looked into this complaint.

many thanks

Headchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a really lovely character pub and serves good food at a sensible price. The bedrooms are ok. Comfortable bed, very basic bedroom indeed but it was nice and quiet and I slept very well. The young staff that served us in the dining room were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious.
If you need a bed for the night it's acceptable, no trimmings. I don't know exactly what you should expect to pay for accommodation in this area but I thought it was rather overpriced.
I would recommend this pub for food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseandgroomchef, Manager at The Horse & Groom, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thanks for your review

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, also that you enjoyed the food!

Reguarding the rooms: yes people do comment they are basic but they do have all the essentials.

I have researched the prices in the area for you, average price of accomadation in this area is £35.00 - £200.00 per night.

Thanks again

headchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Having read mixed reviews, we thought we would try the Horse & Groom for a meal on a Tuesday evening. The bar was fairly quiet, even though the place is famed for its real ale but had a good atmosphere. We had reserved a table but even this proved unnecessary, in spite of a group of about a dozen in the restaurant.

The eating area is very simple, with scrubbed wooden tables that give it a rustic look. In the absence of menus, diners are expected to select from a blackboard, which offered a wide choice (although several items were marked as unavailable). We ordered at the bar and collected a couple of glasses of “house” wine. The white was OK but the red was a mediocre Vin du Pays because we had not realised that a much better wine from Chile was available for just 30 pence more.

We enjoyed a Deep Fried Brie starter, which we shared. My wife chose King Prawns accompanied by vegetables and chips, whilst I opted for Duck. The portions were good but, of course, half a duck always looks large when served on the carcass. Both meals were OK, rather than “special” and neither were great value at around £16 and £17 respectively.

Most of the critical reviews on Tripadvisor seem to complain about the accommodation and landlady, so I was not surprised to see the place listed as 37th out of 45 B&Bs in the Chichester area. Unfortunately, it does not appear to be listed separately in the restaurant list. Having eaten at quite a few of the 59 restaurants currently listed, I would certainly not rate the Horse & Groom amongst the top 10. We think El Castizo and Hallidays are better and Cassons or the Richmond Arms look like good alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseandgroomchef, Manager at The Horse & Groom, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Thank you for your resent comment about your visit to us on Tuesday 5th July.

To enlighten the viewers of this review:

FOOD

king prawns and half roast duck are 2 of the most expensive items on our menu. Our starter prices range from £3.95 up to £7.25 and our main courses range from £8.95 up to £19.95. Which gives our customers a wide variety of choice at a very varied and competitive price, Also we have a bar menu that is available for lunch & evening if you would like a cheaper and lighter meal.

I was disappointed to see that you would not rate the Horse & Groom amongst the top 10 as I can assure the viewers on average 98% of people who dine with us absoulutly love the food, Its just a great shame that "most people" only use review sites if they suffer a non satisfactory or bad experience.

Bar & Restaurant

Our bar and restaurant is set out to give the property its traditional feel, hence having a big blackboard with handwritten content. We are reluctant to change our style as it's a traditional pub with character.
The horse and groom is a 17th century pub, with flagstone floors, cast-iron cooking range, aged wooden tables and wood-panelled bar which provides a traditional public-house charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Warm and friendly, local,character pub serving a good food and selection of very well kept ales. Rooms in annexe, basic but clean and comfortable 'hotel style' layout. Nice breakast friendly service, good value, midweek stop over with no complaints. Outside Chichester and near to Goodwood.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Horse & Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Groom

Address: East Ashling, Chichester PO18 9AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse & Groom 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed in The Good Beer Guide, the Horse and Groom is a friendly and welcoming country pub located in East Ashling, a picturesque village at the foot of the South Downs just a short journey from the charming city of Chichester.With its traditional bar, oak-beamed restaurant and 17th-century flint barn accommodation, the Horse and Groom is a great local meeting place with a comfortable atmosphere that is nurtured by the landlord and landlady, Mike and Michelle Martell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Horse & Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse & Groom Hotel Chichester
The Horse And Groom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horse & Groom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.