We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good city centre Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ASK Italian

ASK Italian
38 East Street, Chichester PO19 1HX, England
+44 1243 775040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 189 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: $11 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The excellent ASK Italian restaurant is situated along East Street in the Sussex city of Chichester, just down the road from the famous cathedral, and is a great choice for Italian dining.The ASK Italian restaurant has recently gone through an extensive refurbishment (2013). We’ve created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we’ve created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
Surrey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good city centre Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This restaurant obviously has some off days according to the reviews but we were very pleased with our late lunchtime meal with two grandchildren. Adult meals were priced as expected but the childrens' meal was exceptional value at £5.95 for three courses - same price as my delicious calamari starter. One of the children spilt her coke all over the table and floor but a waitress was on the case within seconds, mopping the place up. The restaurant was noisy but we were not as concerned as we might otherwise as been as it hid any noise the children might have made! We would certainly go back if we are in the city again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    49
    16
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

visited Ask for a birthday treat for my son.On entering the resturant the first thing i noticed was how noisy it seemed.we were then led to a table which had to be cleaned why not take us to a clean table?.The food at Ask is of the standard i would expect although i did find the service let it down somewhat especially at the end of the meal when it was clear we had finished our lunch.We waited and waited after about 15 minutes my husband paid at the bar it would have been good to be asked if we would like anything else.we felt totally ignored it's no way to look after your custumers if you want them to return.Also portion sizes are small, side salad waste of money for what you pay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The BEST Risotto!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We chose Ask restaurant in Chichester as three out of four of us are vegetarian, after looking at the very limited and frankly uninspiring vegetarian choices at other restaurants locally. It was a Friday evening and the restaurant was busy and quite noisy. Perhaps some soft furnishings or a little background music would soften this? Two of us had the bruschetta for starters which was very disappointing. Raw onion and cold tomatoes chopped and placed onto a piece of toast basically. It needed more garlic and at least popped under the grill for a minute before serving! The other two had the garlic flatbread which was very nice.

Pizza's x 2 for main course which were delicious apparently and one lasagne, one risotto verde. Lasagne great, very tasty, risotto perfect just the best risotto I have ever had! Compliments to the chef, but have another look at your bruschetta and we will be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We won't go back!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Me and my friend went for dinner on a Sunday to 'catch up'. Well, let's say the dinner and service spoilt it all!! We ordered 2 pasta dishes. The portions were tiny!! My friend ordered a dish with lots of vegetables with the pasta but they were hardly any. The dinners were not very warm either... When we tried to complain, the server got annoyed with us and was a bit rude!
We paid only for a dish (to be honest I wasn't happy to have to pay for it at all) The wine was very nice though - the only positive point. When we left, I was hungry and very disatisfied!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top notch nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Took myself and wife for a dinner for two on a hot sunny evening. Made a reservation with the minimal of fuss only to then be given a choice of tables on arrival. Staff were polite and on the ball, never saw a table have to wait long for food or service. The food was top notch for the prices from starter to dessert. All in, a the course meal including drinks for just over £20 with a little help from O2.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to ASK Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASK Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.