We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very expensive experience!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of WWT Arundel Wetland Centre

WWT Arundel Wetland Centre
Mill Road, Arundel BN18 9PB , England
01903 883355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great place for birdwatching.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very expensive experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is probably best visited in the Autumn and Winter months as apart from a splendid location with easy pedestrain access " via broadwalks the birds were penned and generally uninteresting. The cafe was noisy with lots of scrapping chairs overlooking a lake which had absolutely no wildlife on it. Very expensive entry fees and whilst they might catch the unaware once it discourages return visits.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    76
    13
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent the afternoon walking amongst the reeds on the board walk, this is a a great place just to walk. So many birds and the mood is just so relaxing.
We went out on the little boat trip which is all part of the visit and included in the price, kingfihers flying around and the little water voles just carry on chewing up reeds even with a boat full of people watching from 6 feet away.
This is a great place to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Even better than last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Back again and so good to see the new area by the entrance beginning to get well established. This is the area that had been dredged to encourage the Kingfishers and diving grebes. The plantation in that area has totally covered what first looked like a lunar landscape when I was there in April. There were many, many fish in the water already. On the electric boat ride I saw many water voles and the driver stopped so we cold take photos, no hurry at all.
There is so much to see, diving birds area where you can watch them being fed. Walkways to different hides through reed beds.
I really enjoyed sitting on the ground with a pheasant that came over to me to say hello, it was with me for about 15 minutes.
Nice canteen with a variety of food on offer, I only had sandwiches, but cooked food was there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent a wonderful few hours here, I would have liked to stay longer. The electric boat boat ride through the reed beds was excellent, we saw many water voles really close up & the young lady steering the boat was very knowledgeable & enthusiastic. It's very well set out & certainly no lack of wild fowl, many of which I had never heard of. All areas are easily accessible & all the ponds have fascinating information about the various fowl & habitats. We went after the school holidays & it was very peaceful. A delightful place to visit & I will certainly be returning.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous (partly due to great weather)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Boat trip to look at voles, a good variety of restaurants, extremely friendly staff everywhere and very good pubs with good price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WWT Arundel Wetland Centre also viewed

 

Been to WWT Arundel Wetland Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WWT Arundel Wetland Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.