We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is outdated, musty smell and poor restaurant service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Avisford Park

Save Saved
You added Hilton Avisford Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £62
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Arundel
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Room is outdated, musty smell and poor restaurant service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My room was outdated and had a musty smell. although the outside and also restuarant decor is lovely the service I received by staff on the second evening was poor. I left before desert as was left waiting over 30mins and no staff were available (note that the meal otherwise was very good quality).
Prices are particularly steep given it is outside of london.
Although I left restaurant without signing anything nothing was mentioned as I checked out and I raised this with staff.
Gym is also particularly small and is not sufficient for a hotel of its size given my room was bigger than the fitness suite!
Paper did not arrive second morning.
I generally stay at a Hilton as you expect for the brand for it to be of high quality and good service but unfortunately on this stay I was let down.
Breakfast and fitness suite opening times are later than what I would expect (in comparison with other hilton hotels)
Breakfast started at 7.00am one morning but buffet did not have its full compliment and I found I had to ask when items were arriving.
I will however being staying again next week and if I experience the same I will move to a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

It was disappointing to note that you experienced some concerns during your stay with us; in particular service in the restaurant and an unpleasant odour in your room. Your comments have been passed to the relevant departmental managers for remedial action as appropriate, including the lack of follow up on check out. We were, however, pleased to note that your meal in the restaurant, despite the lack of dessert, was of good quality.

We note that some of the breakfast items were not present when you arrived for breakfast, and that your newspaper did not arrive on the second morning, and apologise for any inconvenience and disappointment caused. For your information we have just started an express breakfast buffet for those guests wishing to have a quick early breakfast before leaving for the day. This service is available from 6.30 am until 8.15 am.

We are also planning to have our gym facility open 24 hours in the near future so that guests can use the gym at a time to suit their requirements. The 24-hour policy will only be applicable to the gym; access to the remainder of the facilities will be in accordance with current club opening times.

We hope that your subsequent stay with us proved to be a better experience for you.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    278
    203
    95
    45
See reviews for
148
380
16
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is a mixed bag. The location is very convenient and the grounds and gardens are quite attractive. The entrance to the hotel is pretty much what you would expect and gives a reasonable impression. The reception rooms are very nice and the service at reception, in the bars and in the restaurant were generally very attentive. We had food in the bar and in the restaurant, both of which were pretty good. The Beer, however, was very poor - they have no idea how to keep draft. Breakfasts were, again, pretty much what one would expect - a very reasonable standard and service was again very good. The main weakness of the hotel is the bedrooms, which are on a par with a Travel Lodge - run down, cheaply furnished with poor quality fittings and really poor beds. We stayed in what they call 'De Luxe' rooms - if they have worse rooms I really wouldn't want to stay in one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We are very fortunate to be situated in beautiful grounds and yet in a convenient location for local towns and places of interest.

We were pleased to note that the standard of service experienced at reception, the bar and restaurant met with your satisfaction and you enjoyed your meals with us. Your comment regarding the quality of beer served has been passed to the relevant manager and we apologise for the disappointment caused.

It was also disappointing to note, that you found the beds of a poor standard as all our mattresses have recently been changed. Your comment regarding the standard of decor in the bedrooms has also been noted and we apologise that this did not meet with your expectations. We do have an ongoing programme of refurbishment and maintenance at the hotel and have recently painted the corridors as part of this project.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a special offer. We were greeted by two efficient but scary receptionists who didn't make eye contact or crack a smile once! (not so when we checked out with Zoe who was very friendly!) We were disappointed with the room that was similar to a budget hotel standard; the bed was large but very hard and the duvet was thin and flimsy. There was no fridge in the room and not even a bottle of water was available. The bathroom was basic but adequate, although there was plenty of hot water. There is a bar downstairs next to the restaurant where we had a drink before dinner but the atmosphere was spoiled by a flat screen tv blaring out 'Family Fortunes' and people sitting around in scruffy jeans and fleeces. People seemed to make more of an effort in the restaurant and, I must say, the food was very good, although completely overpriced, and the service was excellent. There was a good selection of hot and cold food for breakfast and the waiters/waitresses were very courteous and polite. Overall, I would say that The Avisford Park is very average in most respects (apart from the food!) which is a great shame as we would not rush to return. It is situated in a convenient place in which to explore Arundel and Chichester but unfortunately too many things let it down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were disappointed to note this was not your experience on check-in. We note, however, your check-out experience when served by Zoe was to our usual high standards.

The beds in our rooms have recently been changed and we were sorry that you found it hard and the quality of the bedding not to your liking.

We were pleased that you found the standard of food and service in the restaurant, during dinner and breakfast, to your satisfaction and have noted your comment regarding the ambience of the bar.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

When booking make sure you know where they are going to put you, as there is the main building (as per all the photo's) and then there is the lodge - which is at least 200 yards away in a completley different building. Both are connected by way of the longest fridge / corridor you will ever find - why no heating, it was freezing !! Anyway the lodge is like another hotel, 70/80's build and the concept is good, as it's main purpose is for business or social functions, so as there are many bedrooms in this building to compliment wedding etc ..Our room was ok / usual Hilton fare, but the bathroom was out dated and in need of repair in various places - also the smell when we walked in was not good. You could hear people coughing and other such noises in the rooms next door !!
Staff at the hotel were all very polite, friendly, helpful and young - however, you kind of felt that there should be an older person somewhere, doing the rounds and talking to customers. The restaurant was ok - the upper section really needs a lick of light paint - deep purple !! Ordered the Leek and Potato soup (£6.00) .. tepid water with diced boiled potatoes and some green - absolutely disgusting. The bar area was a dreadful, only a couple of seats and absolutely no atmosphere, thus two Sky TV's ! As for the Health Club - you had to keep swimming or you would freeze. We tried to get in sauna, but there is only room for a couple of people at a time - Steam Room ... sorry, lack of Steam - Room more like !! As for the grounds, walls and pathway's looked worn and in need of repair - good groundsperson required to overhaul the place. All in all we were pretty disppointed with this hotel, having travelled down from London and having stayed in numerous Hilton hotels over the years (Dublin, last Sunday), I can only hope that Hilton have this location next on their modernisation list ? Since leaving the next morning, I can not recall either of us ever mentioning where we went for our couples night away !

Room Tip: Ensure you are booking the main building. Hilton take Taste Card - but not on a Friday or Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We note that the standard of accommodation in our Garden Lodge generally met with your satisfaction and your particular comments regarding the quality of the bathroom and heating in the link-way corridor will be investigated.

It was disappointing to note that the quality of the soup did not reflect our usual high standards and your comments have been passed to our Head Chef so that he can review this particular dish.

We are also sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our health club. Our Health Club Manager will investigate your concerns over the pool temperature and lack of steam in the steam room and we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

We receive many comments regarding our stunning grounds and were disappointed that you found them in need of attention.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Could be a good hotel - but it needs some attention and the bar service needs some real ale either on draft or bottles - not everyone likes larger or stout.
Great car park and good location for Arundel.
Prices in the bar are a little steep - more London than south coast!
Good breakfast
Rooms ok but again tired

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We are very fortunate to be located in a good position for visiting local towns and places of interest, with lots of car parking space, and were pleased you found this convenient. We were also pleased that the standard of breakfast met with your satisfaction.

Your comment regarding the provision of real ale at the bar has been noted and we thank you for your feedback.

We have an ongoing programme of maintenance and refurbishment and some of our bedrooms have been refurbished. Our current project involves the corridors.

We do hope you will return in the future and thank you once again for your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel looks grand, and has a golf course and beautiful grounds. It is set well away from the road and should therefore be a restful break. The reception area, bar and restaurant are in the usual corporate style, pleasant and comfortable. The corridors serving the bedrooms, are dated, and in places they suffer poor repair. The very long featureless corridors, lack wall lights, art work or other decoration except in a small area near the main stair well. We were on the 2nd floor. where the external corridors, and the bedrooms, had the worst and noisiest floorboards we have ever heard. They are carpeted, but there is no relief from the noise. We have stayed previously in medieval hotels and not suffered the disturbed nights that we did at this hotel. It was not possible to use the facilities during the night without disturbing the other occupants. You were also disturbed by those in the neighbouring rooms, or anyone moving along the corridor. The heavy curtains kept out the light at night, but any benefit was negated by the ceiling light box, which filled the room with daylight from dawn. Most hotels with this facility have a blind to draw across it.

The room was very large and the twin beds were excellent. The frig had been removed, so anyone storing medication etc, had a long walk to the kitchens, with several flights of stairs, as there is no lift. We found the TV would not work on Channels 3 & 4, and whilst we did not pursue this until we left, it was only then did we discover that the fault was known (not just our room), and a remedy was achievable - pity we were not told on arrival.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, up to Hilton standards, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. After three nights of cat napping, I regret we will not return for fear of getting similar disturbed nights.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor with those noisy floorboards. We are not sure if the other two floors are the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

It was disappointing to note that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us due to noise disturbance from the floorboards and light in your room at night. Your particular comments have been passed to our maintenance team for investigation and remedial action as appropriate.

As part of our ongoing programme of maintenance, we are currently redecorating the corridors which should address your concerns regarding this particular area of the hotel.

We apologise that you experienced difficulty with certain television channels and will ensure guests are fully informed of operating instructions on arrival in future.

We were pleased that the standard of accommodation and quality of breakfast met with your satisfaction.

We do hope that you will decide to return in the future. When you have a date in mind, please contact us and we will endeavour to allocate accommodation in a different part of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here on business last week. I have no complaints, the staff were friendly, the room large and comfortable. The breakfast was good with lots of choice exactly what you would expect from a Hilton. The location is a bit out of town so you need a car to reach Arundel, however the grounds are pretty and it's very peaceful at night. There was a bit of noise at night from other guest walking back to there rooms and chatting loudly but that cannot be helped. I had a really good nights sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently whilst on business and had a good night’s sleep.

It was also pleasing to note that you found our team members friendly and the standard of accommodation and breakfast to your satisfaction.

We are very fortunate to be located in 89 acres of beautiful grounds and golf course and were pleased you enjoyed the tranquillity.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Avisford Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.