We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refreshing and some decent beer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Avisford Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Avisford Park to your Saves list
Hilton Avisford Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Needs refreshing and some decent beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Could be a good hotel - but it needs some attention and the bar service needs some real ale either on draft or bottles - not everyone likes larger or stout.
Great car park and good location for Arundel.
Prices in the bar are a little steep - more London than south coast!
Good breakfast
Rooms ok but again tired

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We are very fortunate to be located in a good position for visiting local towns and places of interest, with lots of car parking space, and were pleased you found this convenient. We were also pleased that the standard of breakfast met with your satisfaction.

Your comment regarding the provision of real ale at the bar has been noted and we thank you for your feedback.

We have an ongoing programme of maintenance and refurbishment and some of our bedrooms have been refurbished. Our current project involves the corridors.

We do hope you will return in the future and thank you once again for your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    325
    246
    121
    62
See reviews for
194
452
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel looks grand, and has a golf course and beautiful grounds. It is set well away from the road and should therefore be a restful break. The reception area, bar and restaurant are in the usual corporate style, pleasant and comfortable. The corridors serving the bedrooms, are dated, and in places they suffer poor repair. The very long featureless corridors, lack wall lights, art work or other decoration except in a small area near the main stair well. We were on the 2nd floor. where the external corridors, and the bedrooms, had the worst and noisiest floorboards we have ever heard. They are carpeted, but there is no relief from the noise. We have stayed previously in medieval hotels and not suffered the disturbed nights that we did at this hotel. It was not possible to use the facilities during the night without disturbing the other occupants. You were also disturbed by those in the neighbouring rooms, or anyone moving along the corridor. The heavy curtains kept out the light at night, but any benefit was negated by the ceiling light box, which filled the room with daylight from dawn. Most hotels with this facility have a blind to draw across it.

The room was very large and the twin beds were excellent. The frig had been removed, so anyone storing medication etc, had a long walk to the kitchens, with several flights of stairs, as there is no lift. We found the TV would not work on Channels 3 & 4, and whilst we did not pursue this until we left, it was only then did we discover that the fault was known (not just our room), and a remedy was achievable - pity we were not told on arrival.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, up to Hilton standards, and the staff were all friendly and helpful. After three nights of cat napping, I regret we will not return for fear of getting similar disturbed nights.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor with those noisy floorboards. We are not sure if the other two floors are the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

It was disappointing to note that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us due to noise disturbance from the floorboards and light in your room at night. Your particular comments have been passed to our maintenance team for investigation and remedial action as appropriate.

As part of our ongoing programme of maintenance, we are currently redecorating the corridors which should address your concerns regarding this particular area of the hotel.

We apologise that you experienced difficulty with certain television channels and will ensure guests are fully informed of operating instructions on arrival in future.

We were pleased that the standard of accommodation and quality of breakfast met with your satisfaction.

We do hope that you will decide to return in the future. When you have a date in mind, please contact us and we will endeavour to allocate accommodation in a different part of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here on business last week. I have no complaints, the staff were friendly, the room large and comfortable. The breakfast was good with lots of choice exactly what you would expect from a Hilton. The location is a bit out of town so you need a car to reach Arundel, however the grounds are pretty and it's very peaceful at night. There was a bit of noise at night from other guest walking back to there rooms and chatting loudly but that cannot be helped. I had a really good nights sleep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently whilst on business and had a good night’s sleep.

It was also pleasing to note that you found our team members friendly and the standard of accommodation and breakfast to your satisfaction.

We are very fortunate to be located in 89 acres of beautiful grounds and golf course and were pleased you enjoyed the tranquillity.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

On arrival staff were quite unfriendly and we were told straight away that we would be unable to eat at the hotel that evening as the restaurant was fully booked. It would be helpful to know this in advance as the location is fairly rural.
The room & bathroom were small, but clean. For a 4-star hotel I would have expected a mini bar fridge, there is tea/coffee making facilities however. Room service very pricey & WIFI at £15 at day is extortionate.
We went out for the evening returning to the hotel at about 12.30 midnight. We wanted a nightcap and saw the barman serving other guests. When we asked for a drink he told us to see the receptionist ? This we did, and he told us to go back to the bar and see the barman. The barman then wouldn't speak or acknowledge us and when he had finished serving other drinks he just disappeared. Eventually we went back to the receptionist who came and got our drinks for us. It was very odd!
Just sat down to enjoy our nightcaps and the fire alarm went off. Initially we didn't move, and no member of staff said anything to us. After about 10 minutes people started evacuating the hotel in their pyjamas and dressing gowns. It was very chaotic and nobody was sure what was going on. Didn't see or hear any members of staff. I went to help other members of my family who were already in bed and get our dogs out of the room. Guests all assembled right outside the hotel entrance and when the fire brigade arrived they couldn't get through! It was only then a voice was heard over a loudspeaker telling us to go to the fountain area in the garden. It was freezing cold. Some of us were given foil blankets. We had to wait outside for about an hour and then we were allowed inside the lobby area for a further 30-40 minutes until the fire brigade gave the all clear. Bottles of water were handed out but a cup of tea would have been really appreciated at this point. We finally got to bed around 3am. Apparently there was no fire, someone had tampered with the sprinklers in their room, perhaps to smoke?
I know it's not the fault of the hotel if this happens but there was a lack of information/instruction from the staff to hotel guests. Nobody spoke to us or the group of people around us through all this. In the morning we had a letter of apology pushed under the door but as we all got pretty cold outside and only got a few hours sleep in the end, a discount or a voucher would have been a nice gesture.
I also noticed a sign that said as breakfast times get very busy they would like us to go down for our breakfast at 7.30! On a Sunday?
Having said all that the breakfast was great and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our party of 6 plus a wheelchair.
You are encouraged to Express check-out when you leave by putting your keys and final invoice in the box at reception, which I did, This however made the whole stay very impersonal. There is a nice looking golf course and the grounds are nicely kept but I found the hotel unfriendly and lacking in atmosphere and I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Disabled room on the ground floor was large and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and it was very disappointing to note this was not your experience with certain departments. Your particular comments will be passed to our Front Office Manager and Restaurant Manager for investigation and further training as appropriate.

It was unfortunate that the fire alarm was activated during your stay and resulted in a full evacuation of the hotel. We certainly take all such activations very seriously and all our team members are fully trained in fire evacuation procedures. It was disappointing, therefore, that communication from our team members was not readily available. This will be addressed with further training as a priority and we apologise for the inconvenience and uncertainty experienced.

The express check-out facility is offered as an option for guests and is not meant as a replacement of a personal check-out experience. It is particularly useful for our business guests on a tight schedule.

We were pleased that you and your party enjoyed your breakfast with us and found our team members in the restaurant helpful.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel looked good from the outside and the reception staff were very friendly. The room a family room on the top floor was far too hot but the radiator was off so no way of controlling the heat apart from opening a window. The room was very dated in every way. The lounge area however was really cold. The staff were friendly although didn't know how to serve wine. We are all users of WIFI and to try and charge for it is a complete rip off we would think twice about booking here again because of that. The lighting in this room 225 is really poor especially when my wife wanted to do her make up. This place needs a complete revamp

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were pleased to note that you found our team members friendly, particularly on Reception and in the Restaurant. Your comment, however, regarding the serving of wine has been noted and will be addressed with further training.

We have also noted that the temperature in your room and in the lounge area was not conducive to comfort and apologise for the inconvenience this caused.

Your comment regarding the lighting in your room has been passed to our Maintenance Department for investigation and remedial action as appropriate.

Whilst a charge is made for internet usage in bedrooms, guests can enjoy free internet access in the public areas.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantome, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The room was a route march along a cold never ending walkway, The room was freezing on arrival and took ages to warm up after we had figured out how to get the radiators to work. The heating in the bathroom never did work. Minus 1 outside and the room wasn't much better.

Reception on arrival was unfriendly and unhelpful, other than that the staff were ok although the waiting staff in the restaurant could have done with some additional training. The restaurant was like sitting in a corridor with staff rushing backwards and forwards throughout the meal around the table. The wine was very expensive and badly served. Food ok looked better than it tasted.

Breakfast was excellent and we sat at a different table which was far more relaxed.

We wouldn't stay here again the thing that really put us off was the 14.99 for 24hrs WiFi outrageous.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We were disappointed to note that your check-in and dining experience fell short of our usual high standards. Your particular comments have been passed to the Front Office Manager and Restaurant Manager so that further training can be carried out to ensure the correct standards are being achieved. It was also disappointing that the food served did not meet with your expectations.

We were also sorry that your room was cold on arrival and took some time to heat up. It is not clear whether you reported the lack of heat in the bathroom; had we been made aware of the situation we would certainly have endeavoured to rectify the problem and apologise for the inconvenience this caused.

On a more positive note, we were glad that your breakfast experience was more positive and you were located in a more relaxing part of the restaurant.

Whilst a charge is made for internet use in bedrooms, guests are able to enjoy free internet access in the public areas.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

You will enjoy its beautiful surroundings, golf course, and extensive garden - ideal for strolls with the significant other half. The hotel itself has "a soul" - the lounge bar is great to unwind, there is a cosy fireplace in the lobby, rooms are standard Hilton rooms - you everything there what you could possibly expect from a hotel room. Location is it's best asset and fantastic gate to Arundel and Brighton escapes. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in February 2013.

We are certainly very fortunate to be situated in stunning grounds and yet in an ideal location for visiting local towns and places of interest.

We were pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and ambience within the public areas, particularly the lounge bar, and found the standard of accommodation to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours faithfully

General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Avisford Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.