We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Avisford Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Avisford Park to your Saves list
Hilton Avisford Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel at least once or twice a year for over 5 years whilst in the area on business. whilst staing I always eat at least one evening in the restaurant, this has been hit and miss and the menu isnt exactly inspiring (although it changes regularly). Breakfast is always very good, with ample choice and fresh.

the rooms themselves are clean and comfortable, with decent selection of channels availble on a flat screen tv, great if you are on your own and a tad bored.

In summer the golf course (a members club that hotel partons can use) is a great evening respite after a long day and not too expensive with twilight fees available.

Staff are professional and courteous.

i suppose my main gripe is the cost, and lack of pecieved investment. i just feel like they charge a premium and some, a good example is wi-fi in rooms is charged at an extortionate rate, checked it a couple of years ago and almost choked, also a glass of wine is about £8, but maybe thats because i am a northerner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in November 2012.

We note that you have stayed with us several times over the past five years and that although you have always found our breakfasts to be of a good standard, our evening meals have been somewhat inconsistent. Your comment has been passed to our Head Chef so that he can more closely monitor meals to ensure they are achieving the requisite standards and our menus are suitably inspiring.

We were pleased to note that the standard of accommodation met with your satisfaction and the in-room television had a good selection of channels. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were pleased to note this was your experience.

We are fortunate to have an extensive range of leisure facilities and note that you had the opportunity to use the golf course during one of your visits.

Whilst there is a charge for wifi in the bedrooms, this service is free of charge in the public areas; we apologise if you were not made aware of this at the time of your stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    325
    246
    121
    62
See reviews for
194
452
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed for a night with my girlfriend. We stayed on the first floor with a nice view of the golf course. Bed was ok, furnishings are dated and the bathroom was BOILING. Infact the radiator stayed on the whole night at full heat. The hallways was constantly noisy with children running up and down, not the hotels problem however I would have thought they may have told the children to stop!
The food was awesome, in fact a great restaurant. highly recommend.
Overall a dated room with a great restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in November 2012.

We were pleased that generally the standard of accommodation was to your satisfaction. We appreciate the radiator in the bathroom caused some discomfort, and would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify the situation had we been made aware of the problem at the time.

Whilst we rely on our guests and visitors to show consideration towards others this was, unfortunately, not so during your visit and we apologise for the disturbance caused. Our Duty Management team will also be asked to more closely monitor guest activity so that it does not impact on the enjoyment of the hotel by others.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience in the Cedar Restaurant and thank you for your recommendation.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I went to this Hotel for a party, so just for the night; reception very nice, but WIFI not working / business center not working;
overall the staff very nice, kind and helpful; so a good place to celebrate whatever
Rooms were clean, even when one can notice that the place has seen better times

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We were pleased that you found our team members kind and helpful and accommodation to your satisfaction.

We note that you experienced a problem with non-working wifi / business centre and apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future for another party.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in an idyllic location.dinner was nice, however small portions. Breakfast is awesome. A little pricey but you get what you pay for. There are plenty of facilities, is indoor pool and gym and a golf course for enthusiasts.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We were pleased to note that you liked our idyllic location and extensive leisure facilities.

We were also glad that you enjoyed your meals with us, in particular the breakfasts. Your comment regarding dinner portions has been passed to our Head Chef so that he can ensure meals are presented to the correct standard.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel has very impressive grounds with a beautiful golf course and a lot of care has gone in to maintaining the grounds and outside area.

The staff were really pleasant from the warm welcoming when we arrived to ensuring that we were suitably topped up in the bar. We stayed in a room on the second floor and although it was a little on the small side,it was fine as we were out and about in the day and the room was very clean and tidy with really comfortable beds.

The food on the menu is very much on the expensive side and we weren't overwhelmed with the quality compared with some of the local restaurants. The reception and the bar areas are nicely decorated and modern in appearance but the hallways and stairwells were looking a bit dated and on the shabby side! This place is a lovely place to stay and a good base for exploring the local area. The hotel has lots of character and I would return here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We are very fortunate to be located in a beautiful setting and were pleased to note you found the grounds and golf course impressive and location ideal for exploring the local area.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were pleased to note this was your experience. Due to the age and nature of the building the size and style of our bedrooms vary and we were glad that the standard of accommodation met with your satisfaction.

It was disappointing to note, however, that the quality of food at dinner fell short of your expectations and your comments have been shared with our Head Chef.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and note that you would return in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

While you might expect a Hilton to charge over-the-top prices,this one is very reasonable. It is set in a magnificent park and boasts excellent facilities including golf,indoor & outdoor pools & tennis. However,it is very much a business meeting-place & most guests seem only to stay one night. When you try the beds,you think you may have discovered another reason for this. " Bed & Board" may have originated here so pack some memory foam! We did not try a suite but
the basic room has clean facilities & enough space for 2 people & a small dog-we are always delighted if ours is welcome & there was no charge for him. There is a £15 per day charge for using wi-fi though,which is fine if you can charge it to a business.
The food is excellent and the breakfast has the widest variety of high quality choices you could possibly imagine.If the hotel is full,it can be an obstacle course fetching it though.
The staff are very friendly & helpful and the hotel is convenient for several local attractions,including Arundel,Petworth House,Goodwood & the S. Coast.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have upper window sealed for security as bars are fitted to lower one. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We are very fortunate to be located in a beautiful setting with extensive leisure facilities as well as being ideally situated for exploring the local area.

We were pleased that the standard of accommodation and cleanliness met with your satisfaction although we note you found the bed a little too hard for you. We were also pleased to note that we were able to accommodate your small dog and trust he enjoyed his pet amenities!

Whilst wifi is chargeable in the bedrooms, it is available free of charge in the public areas and we apologise if this was not explained to you during your stay.

Our breakfasts are renowned for offering an extensive choice of items and were pleased they met with your expectations.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your dog back to Avisford Park.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

2 night business stay. Gorgeous listed building. Huge grounds, arrived at night-time and felt like I had arrived! Food excellent, so many lovely sitting areas and lounges. Breakfast excellent. Staff cannot do enough to help you. Masses of free parking.

Would go again with family. Gym and pool.

Room Tip: Do not take a garden lodge room if you cannot walk far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your visit in October 2012.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were away from home on business. We also note that you found the meals excellent and team members helpful.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park with your family to enjoy our beautiful surroundings and extensive leisure facilities.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your very positive feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Avisford Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.