We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Norfolk Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Norfolk Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Arundel BN18 9AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this with friends on a travelzoo deal which was exceptional value. We arrived early and helpful receptionist gave us parking voucher so we could leave car and walk around pretty town. Our rooms in courtyard annexe were large and adequately furnished but felt a bit bare and lacking in character. Bed seemed small for size of room but everything was clean and comfortable. However heating did not seem to be on and room was chilly. Dinner menu gave us a good choice and food was well cooked and ample portions. Offer included a bottle of wine per room that we were able to take into dinner which was a bonus. The hotel is a bit tired in places but the location could not be better and all the staff were helpful and friendly. A bargain at the price we paid. I would stay again on a similar deal.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    55
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
9
88
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked under the Buyagift scheme so did not expect a brilliant room, but were surprised how shabby the annexe room was with very battered furniture. It was clean and the water in the bathroom was piping hot, but the soft mattress gave us backache. We were asked if we wanted to book for dinner, but decided to wait until we had sampled a breakfast. Breakfast was reasonable though the automatic hot drinks machine broke down on both days and the dining room was very depressing with no window views. There were no dinner menus we could see in reception, the rooms or on line so we asked the receptionist who showed us the menu placed in a very unobtrusive and low light area in small print. Staff were helpful and fortunately there were many good eating places close by.

Room Tip: Do not expect much from the annexe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for one Friday night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We chose the Norfolk Arms as it is centrally located in Arundel village. However, we were also pleased with the hotel itself not just the excellent location.

Upon arrival we found a reasonably large car park at the back of the hotel, and we were given a sign to display on the dashboard to indicate we were patrons of the hotel.
When checking in and out, the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room itself was adequate, although dated. The furniture was very old (period, I think some people would call it), but generally the facilities were good. The shower wasn't very powerful and I was glad I didn't need to wash my hair. During the night there was a lot of creaking floors due to the age of the building, and I didn't sleep as well as I could have. But overall we had a good night.

There was a wide selection for breakfast; croissants, bread for toasting, cereal, yoghurt etc. and the option of a cooked breakfast which you could select the items you wanted rather than just being given the standard breakfast, e.g. no black pudding for me, an extra sausage for my husband. The gentleman waiting on us was more than happy to help with any special requests.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, beautiful rooms, great breakfast. Cannot find fault with this hotel, its central to everything in Arundel and very comfortable. The pubs nearby are great, friendly and if you are lucky you will get a live band on a Saturday night. We will visit again.

Room Tip: All are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just spent two nights at the Norfolk Arms Hotel. Yes, the hotel is a bit tired and does need some refurbishment which I understand is all in hand, however you cannot fault the charm of the place. I am pleased it is a listed building as it will not be turned into a modern, no character shell of a hotel. The staff are some of the best I have come across, from the warm welcome when we arrived from the receptionist to the waitress in the breakfast room. I was there for the Candlelight festival and the hotel was fairly full but most people I spoke to during my stay were full of compliments about the hotel and the general good feeling generated by all the staff. I would without doubt recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Norfolk Arms is a delightful, grand old coaching inn right in the centre of Arundel. It is a great location with good off-road parking. Of course as an old building there is an element of tired tradition about it. We had a room in the annex which was not the most comfortable but overall the stay met my expectations. Friendly staff and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were so obliging and friendly, which made for a relaxing stay, but the bathrooms do need a makeover. We had a Christmas meal, which was not up to scratch and the house wine was not the best I've had for the price. Could do better. The breakfast was fine. The lounges were really great, with log fires and comfortable furniture. A good atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norfolk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Arundel BN18 9AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arundel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Norfolk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Arms Hotel Arundel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.