We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliantly scary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arundel Ghost Experience

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Arundel Ghost Experience
Duke's Path | Off High Street, Arundel BN18 9AP, England
01903889821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 Attractions in Arundel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come join the Master on a 20 minute candlelit tour of the historic Arundel Town Hall prison cells. Hear stories of the local Sussex ghosts and tales of the previous inmates some of whom refuse to leave!
Sandwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliantly scary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I can't see why the Ghost Experience has received negative reviews. I guess they were unlucky and went on the wrong day. When me and my friends went back in August it was open, there were no problems getting in, and we all had a brilliant time. Totally scary and great fun! Really recommend it.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant. I was genuinely scared! we were talking about it for weeks afterwards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I went with friends and it made a day out in Arundel something we talked about weeks later. We laughed about our reactions because once inside all your scepticism goes and you are genuinely spooked. Highly recommended!! We found it open & only had to wait 5 minutes for the tour to start. My friend had been before & always found it open at weekends.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waste of time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I arrived here with my friends...we got to the gate and a hand written note was scribbled out and stuck to the door, to say they would not be open that day. Everytime i seem to go there, its shut for one reason or another. Ive given up with the place. Although, when they do eventually open there doors, i hear its great in there.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arundeljailhouse, Owner at Arundel Ghost Experience, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us on Trip Advisor and we're very sorry you've got such a negative experience of us. We have not received a specific complaint from you so we cannot comment of the circumstances.

Since running the Ghost Experience under new management from early 2009 we have had to review our opening times as it was not feasible for us to open daily as the previous owner used to. We advertise our opening times on our website and encourage people visiting our venue to call in advance if they are making a special trip. We also display our out of hours contact details for customers to make an enquiry if they arrive to find the venue closed.

If you are visiting us again please drop us a line and closer to the time and we can advise on our opening times or you can always check the website!

Many thanks,
Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unreliable Service, dont waste your time !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We advanced booked a tour for Sunday 11 th Sept at 2pm. We had the confirmation in writing and arrived 5 mins early. On arrival the doors were locked with a message saying tour in progress, next tour 20 mins. Despite waiting outside with 5 other people for over 45 mins, the door never opened and we had to give up. They never answered the phone or responded to knocking on the door. We travelled a long distance and were let down, would strongly advise against going.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arundeljailhouse, Owner at Arundel Ghost Experience, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Firstly we'd like to apologise again that we let you down on the day and that you could not enjoy Arundel Ghost Experience on your stay in Arundel. We pride ourselves of the level of service and reliability to our customers and as such are upset that we have let you down.

As explained in our email to you on the 16th September 2011 our member of staff on that day was taken ill during his shift and as such had to leave. Normally the front gate is shut but on this day it was left open giving the impression that someone was in the Jailhouse. We did successfully contact all our customers who has made bookings for the day to let them know but we could not contact you as we only had an email address and no phone number.

Unfortunately incidents like this do occur and we are sorry for the disruption to your day. We have offered you complimentary tickets if you are in the area another time and we hope you take us up on the offer.

Many thanks,
Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arundel Ghost Experience also viewed

 

Been to Arundel Ghost Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arundel Ghost Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.