We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and fixed price menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Palace

Oriental Palace
27 London Road, Coventry CV1 2JP, England
024 76551533
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 453 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and fixed price menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

A large group of us went here for the price fix menu - as much as you can eat for £12! The food is really good and you can order as many dishes as you like. There is plenty to choose from on the menu.

The only let down with this restaurant is the decor as it is very run down and it is always freezing cold so wrap up warm!

Also there can sometimes be a bit of a language barrier when ordering food and don't always get exactly what you ask for.

Great value for money and good food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and service! Why isnt it packed??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great Chinese restaurant and takeaway. For a similar price to an All you can eat buffet you get all you can eat hot, freshly prepared tasty chinese food. We usually go as a family and always enjoy ourselves. Having introduced numerous friends to this place, they always tell us they'll be making repeat visits. We often wonder why the place isnt packed out as its deffinately the best chinese in Coventry.
The staff are very polite and do everything they can to make you feel welcome and comfortable. You arent packed in like sardines like you are at many restaurants these days. There is plenty of space, both between each table and on the table itself (we like to order as a family and try each others which ends with plates everywhere).
The only negative for me is the decor, as its not the most modern, but if thats the worst thing i can think of i think they are doing pretty good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
622 helpful votes 622 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The food at the oriental palace is really good and the menu is very extensive. I once made the mistake of ordering the hot and spicy soup, but it turned out to be very tasty indeed. The price of the menu is reasonable and the staff are very friendly. I like getting a home delivery service from here too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Two hairs in two courses!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have visited this restaurant many times since it opened and was always happy with the service and the food but the last time i visited i was sat with my wife and had ordered my starter of hot an sour soup to only find a hair in it, i fished it out an carried because mistakes happen and the soup was very nice, i mentioned my findings very quietly to the waiter who sincerely apologised an told the chef what had occurred, thinking that everything was ok i carried on an ordered our second course of yuk sung an wait for it.......you guessed it........another hair!!! at this point i lost my appetite an so did my wife i called the waitress over an showed her the offending article, again another sincere apology but this time i couldn't carry on so we got up an left.
This is a shame as i used to enjoy dinning there but just can't face it anymore!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Fixed Price A La Carte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This first opened several years ago as a normal Chinese restaurant, and the quality of the food was way, way ahead of any other in Coventry. Fortunately they have maintained that quality with their change of style.

This is the far better alternative to the 'all you can eat' buffet. You order a la carte, and they bring freshly cooked piping hot food. Simple. And if like us, you prefer to eat a lot of starters and less main courses, it works just as well, all for the same price.

The staff are very friendly and the cost of drinks reasonable so it all adds up to a nice evening out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Palace also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Oriental Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.