We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant

Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 426 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“50th Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The atmosphere was excellent , the Staff were polite and funny, the food was brilliant and so was the mead :-) the ribs were to die for and finished off with the apple crumble I haven't tasted any better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    69
    42
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslingden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went out as a family and enjoyed an excellent afternoon tea, everything was to a very high standard the service was attentive particularly as we had mum with us whose 94

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to host a family celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just had a wonderful family gathering. location and venue just perfect. We got everything we asked for and nothing too much for the staff. stayed overnight and although evening service in bar was very slow, they apologised and made it right. Rooms in the new block were great and very comfortable. the setting is magical and very well kept.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went for Afternoon Tea here with my firned yesterday and we had the most amazing time. The staff were very polite, helpful and were keep to do all they could to make us comfortable. The setting was lovely inside the conservatory which is quite a large room, however the layout made it seem much smaller which was lovely. We had plently of food and endless ammpounts of tea to keep us going. We had 4 finger sandwiches each, a warm fruit scome with clotted cream and jam, macaroons, rocky road, victoria sponge and profiteroles. We were absolutely stuffed!
It's great value for money and would definately reccommend this to anybody looking for a lovely afternoon out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon Tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea here recently. The sandwiches were fresh and the scones d'lish. I thought the pieces of cake were a little on the small side. The setting is lovely. I have only given an average score due to the staff having "forgot" our order, we had to remind the waitress after seeing people who arrived after us being served first, and the limited choice of teas. If these two areas were addressed I would have scored higher.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.