We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant

Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 435 Restaurants in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poor for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I visited Coombe for an overnight stay, bed and breakfast with my partner. We had an evening meal in the restaurant from the a la carte menu. It was very poor. Small portions, bland taste. Very expensive. I won't be going again. I could have cooked something myself for a tenth of the price that was far more tasty. It was a real let down. I can say that the bread that was served with the meal was heavenly and the puddings and coffee were nice. But the main meal...I definitely would never recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    79
    43
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best cream tea I've ever tasted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've been here twice now for a cream tea and would go back every week if I could justify it! The dining room/conservatory is absolutely beautiful and for the second visit we sat in one of the gorgeous bird cage/draped areas. This was so romantic and private (if a little hot on the day we chose!). The cream tea is surprisingly good value (£7.95) for the setting and the quality. The scones are the absolute best I've ever tasted and I've raved about them to so many people ever since. They are large, fresh and tasty. Two scones is just about all that I could manage so I don't know how people pack in the sandwiches etc too when they order the afternoon tea. The service was a little bit slow but we weren't in any hurry so it really wasn't an issue.

We went for a walk in the grounds afterwards and they were a really lovely way to spend an hour on a sunny day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“medieval banquet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

went to the abbey with a group of girls and I have to disagree with most peoples views on the food and service itself. Yes it was use the fingers but no one seemed to mind. The spare rib was delicous as was the chicken served after with a good sized jacket potato and salad. The entertainers did well to keep everyone singing and laughing and we all had a great night out. We went on to the disco and found time to have a look around it really is a beautiful place and would have loved to have stopped the night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Poor organisation but pulled it back with good food and ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The table organisation for Sunday afternoon tea was very poor. We waited at the 'stand here' sign for 10 minutes to eventually be told to come back in 20 minutes. When we did the queue at the 'stand here' sign had extended to the degree that enforced a further 20 minute wait. A pity because once reaching the front the staff are polite and helpful but rushed off their feet. Sunday afternoon understandably is a busy time but I feel they should organise themselves better because afternoon tea at Coombe Abbey is a treat and customers shouldn't be queuing in a line longer than acceptable at McDonald's. The tea itself is absolutely lovely, the surroundings very pleasing and the staff were apologetic and pleasant. I would go again but maybe on a weekday when it's less busy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coombe Abbey Hotel and Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I visited for a wedding in 2011 and I was very impressed with it. Although I did not stay the night I saw my great auntie's hotel room and it was of a good size even if the decor was a little old

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombe Abbey Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.