We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habibi

Habibi
142 Far Gosford Street, Coventry CV1 5DY, England
024 7622 0669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 426 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $31 - $63
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I went to Habibi for a night out with work colleagues and we all had an excellent night out. The decor and atmosphere throughout is fantastic. It's not the cheapest, but unlike some other reviewers I was full at the end. Our table shared a starter Mezze for 4 between 8 of us. There was plenty. I had the Veg tagine with a side of bread. I couldn't finish my bread. Only downside is the one little loo for the whole restaurant other than that, a very good experience and I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    40
    14
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Uncertain meat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice atmosphere. We were in the tent and it added to the party feel. The service was somewhat disorganised. It is so hot at the moment that big jugs of water are the order of the day. There were no big jugs and getting small jugs and glasses refilled was a bit of a hit and miss affair. We had the mezza. The vegetarian aspects were lovely - the potatoes spicy but lovely. The aubergine dip was great ....in fact all lovely. The meat was a bit difficult to identify from the description - it didn't look much like chicken or lamb. I had the vegetarian tagine which was lovely but the meat eaters were not so enthralled. There was plenty of food. We partook of the hookah - Watermelon and mint was the favourite flavour. The price was good. The party atmosphere was good. Would I go back with my family or as a couple - unlikely......

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely setting, informal and good for chilling out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Returned to Habibi with my good friend after a few years of absence. It's not part of my usual stomping ground so easily slips off my radar as it's not the part of town I frequent. The council are regenerating Far Gosford Street so it is more inviting.
On to the restaurant. Although we never got acknowledgement of our reservation, we got seated straight away. Bring your own bottle is great, and the food was just wonderful. Opted for the mezza @ £15.00 per head. All fresh and nicely barbecued it was a joy to eat. Garden now expanded, which gives you a flavour of places like Tunisia and Morocco and you sit on cushions around low tables. Only slight fly in the ointment was a screaming kid, which could not be helped and I guess we're a bit less tolerant of that over here than in Mediterranean countries but it does not contribute to a relaxing evening and a chinwag with a friend. Service friendly and efficient but with a relaxed attitude. I don't think they'd ever shoo you out of the door but I am not sure what the place is like when it's really busy. Definitely need to put this great place back on my radar and return promptly. Great for vegetarians, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a little gem of a restaurant. The setting, devour, ambience is a wonderful experience. Had a wonderful time with group of friends in the tent area. Good policy to bring your own wine. Food went for the mixed mezze which was lovely and good value. At the end we had shipshape in a lovey atmosphere. Staff friendly and attentive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COVENTRY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Habibi is one of my favorite restaurants! Myself and my friends come here regularly and always have a seat in the shisha tent in the garden! the ambiance is lovely and you really feel like you are somewhere else.

The food is lovely and we always have a variety of dishes! the best thing about here is that you can bring your own drinks (you do pay corkage) but this will be cheaper that the drink you would buy in a restaurant anyway!

Would recommend to anyone who loves a dining experience and not just your average meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habibi also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Habibi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habibi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.