We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habibi

Habibi
142 Far Gosford Street, Coventry CV1 5DY, England
024 7622 0669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 426 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $31 - $62
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a little gem of a restaurant. The setting, devour, ambience is a wonderful experience. Had a wonderful time with group of friends in the tent area. Good policy to bring your own wine. Food went for the mixed mezze which was lovely and good value. At the end we had shipshape in a lovey atmosphere. Staff friendly and attentive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    40
    14
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
COVENTRY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Habibi is one of my favorite restaurants! Myself and my friends come here regularly and always have a seat in the shisha tent in the garden! the ambiance is lovely and you really feel like you are somewhere else.

The food is lovely and we always have a variety of dishes! the best thing about here is that you can bring your own drinks (you do pay corkage) but this will be cheaper that the drink you would buy in a restaurant anyway!

Would recommend to anyone who loves a dining experience and not just your average meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Myself and three friends booked a table at this restaurant on May 12th for a birthday celebration.

You have the choice of sitting inside in the authentically decorated restaurant, or outside on the cushions underneath a canopy by a fire. We always sit outside so we can smoke. The atmosphere is very good, and a lady who I think either owns or runs the restaurant has always said hello to us and made us feel welcome.

The food is always nices and comes in really big portions so you often end up sharing. You are also able to bring in your own alcohol (for a reasonable corkage fee)

The birthday cake was bought out after the dinner as requested and some of the staff and the other customers all joined in singing happy birthday.

The food is reasonably price and the portions are big and tasty. The staff are always friendly. One of the best restaurants in Coventry

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

In Coventry, somewhere like Habibi is a treat! Coventry does not have many good restaurants. This is the only place I can say that I get consistently good food. The selection is also excellent; perfect for meat eaters, vegetarians, vegans and so on. I have a great time every time I come here, and the BYOB policy is also quite handy. THe staff are generally friendly and helpful, although I have had one bad experience. However, the incredible authentic food more than makes up for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favorite after work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Me and my best friend are visiting this place on regular basic after work. The food is delicious and portions are so big that we always share one plate. Our favorite dish is HABIBI CHICKEN SHARWERMA (slices of chicken marinated in herbs and spices) with habibi special rice (rice and vermicelli, raisins, fried onions and fried nuts) and cinnamon tea.

During one visit we ordered MASHROUB BEITJALAL ( traditional palestinian hot milk drink flavoured with cardamom pods) and we nearly choked on it :D To spicy for us ^^

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habibi also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Habibi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habibi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.