We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great just before the theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express - Coventry

Pizza Express - Coventry
10 Hay Lane, Coventry CV1 5RF, England
+44 (0)24 7663 3156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 453 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Coventry Hay Lane offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Midlands,UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great just before the theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have used this pizza express on several occasions before going to the theatre..great service, food and all staff very helpful. Regular e mails with offers sent too, all very useful!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    53
    29
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went 28th March in the evening for a family meal - fabulous food, lovely atmosphere and served by Andrew whose originally from Turkey and he was lovely - It was our first time in a Pizza Express and would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphwre..went in day time wasnt busy. Food tasted fresh and yum.

Great for catching up with a friend

Fast service and clean place

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wouldnt Return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went here for lunch with a friend, . We chose to sit away from the bar area as there were 2 vey small groups in with small children. The waiter immediately approached us, whilst sat at our table and duly advised us to not to sit where we had chosen as he didnt want to walk across the restaurant to serve us our food and drink and wanted all customers to be seated in one area. If I wished to dine with young children screaming and shouting then I would have gone to McDonalds or even brought my own Grandchildren, however I was out with a friend so therefore we wanted an environment where we could actually hear each others conversation.
If this is the policy, that Lunchtime Dining is segregated to an allocated part of the restaurant, then perhaps Pizza Express need to make the relevant notification for Customers to see this, should they want some privacy whilst having a lunch.
Food came almost immediately after ordering, and was actually quite nice, considering it had been nuked in the microwave or whatever appliance they use.
Service, I felt was a bit rushed, it was almost as if the staff on duty had somewhere else they would have rather been.
Paying the bill, we had a Voucher to use against our meal, quite disapointed to feel that the Waiter seemed to disapprove of us getting a "Meal Deal" and if he didnt express it verbally then his face certainly did.
Now Ive been and experienced this restaurant, I dont feel I will be rushing back here any time soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food did not taste nice. It did not taste right for an Italian restaurant. there was no flavor. No more to say really was not my cup of tea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express - Coventry also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express - Coventry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.