We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Coventry
Cross Point Business Park, Gielgud Way, Coventry CV2 2SZ, England
+44(0)2476 604900
Improve this listing
Ranked #260 of 435 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“What did you say?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

An extremely noisy restaurant packed with pre-cinema diners. The staff were friendly but the waitress didn't deliver - so the water never arrived and my burger came liberally splashed with mayo despite me saying I didn't want it. You are directed to the bar on arrival but the drinks you feel forced to order there cannot then be added to your bill. Every so often the lights dim and Happy Birthday booms out over the music system followed by a quick blast of Cliff Richard singing 'Congratulations'. But it was cheap.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    47
    44
    28
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Have visited several times as I work in the area fairly often. The main reason I visit is for the free Internet which costs £10 in the hotel.
The service is generally ok but the food is very average often overcooked, the beer is passable but overpriced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wertwer
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smart restaurant poor service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great restaurant and food but poor service and some dodgy people in there! Looked like some were just let out of jail! Found this with most of the area

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff who provided fantastic customer service. Made us feel really welcome and recommended food to make out choice easier. Great atmosphere, great staff, fantastic food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced pub standard food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The quality of the food here has gone down hill rapidly over the last few years, but prices are still increasing.
We didn't mind paying a little extra in the past, when the quality was at a higher standard, but now, it really is only at a level of your average pub.
Today we were greeted by the host, who was as miserable as sin; no welcome, just walked off and we followed.
Apart from the average food, the beer was also flat and watery - their excuse was that it was only a 4% lager?? (4% with added water more like).
It will be a long time before we revisit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Coventry also viewed

 

Been to Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Coventry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.