We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Aircraft Museum in UK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midland Air Museum

Midland Air Museum
Coventry Airport | Rowley Road, Baginton, Coventry, England
024 7630 1033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Attractions in Coventry
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Aircraft Museum in UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My second visit this time with the kids. 4,7 and 11. Simply put where else can you craw into the cockpit of a Vulcan bomber? With Rob the best story teller and so gentle with the kids offbeat questions.

While the flasher place have more planes you just can't get up Close and personal!

Thanks guys.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    65
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best aircraft museum I have been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband is an aircraft enthusiast - I found that out to my surprise on our four month sabbatical travelling around the US and Europe.

So we have been to four different ones - 3 in England and one in New York. Of all of them this was my favourite. It was not the flashiest, it did not have the biggest displays or the most aircraft - but what it did have was amazing guides who were full of interesting information and fascinating anecdotes AND we were allowed into the cockpit of a Vulcan bomber. Our guide's name was Rob. He was fabulous. and he was immensely patient with our children (ages 4-11 years).

Being able to interact with the aircraft in this way really made the visit special for me.

We stayed for an hour but I KNOW my husband would have stayed longer if we did not have somewhere else we had needed to be.

The facilities are fairly basic but if you had to choose one aircraft museum to go to in the UK this is the one I would want to visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very interesting displays and very informative. We learnt a lot here. Didn't realise there were so many variations of aircraft. Would recommend a visit. The tea & fruit cake were lovely, too

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not to missed for transport lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Adapted for wheelchair users, café and guided tours available. Fairly small inside but you can always add the Lunt Roman Fort just 2 mins country walk distance away. Within 2 mins reach of the train museum too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An Aviation Museum not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Midland Air Museum is relatively small but packed with history and a fantastic range of aircraft on display. Based on the edge of Coventry Airport close to the where the Armstrong-Whitworth factory built many historical aircraft. The museum includes the Sir Frank Whittle Jet Heritage Centre showing the development of the Jet engine.

The volunteer staff were very knowledgeable and helpful, we were able to go up on to the flight deck of the museum's Avro Vulcan bomber which was really the highlight of our visit.

The museum has a lot of aircraft models from across the World.

The refreshments served by the small cafe were good we had Chicken and Mushroom pies for lunch followed by tea / coffee and cake.

This was a visit to remember.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midland Air Museum also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Midland Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midland Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.