We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cinema” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Showcase cinema

Showcase cinema
Gielgud Way,Walsgrave, Coventry CV2 2SZ, England
0871 220 10000871 220 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 24 Activities in Coventry
Type: Amusement
Attraction details
Nuneaton, England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Great cinema with resurants nearby. Late night showings and a comedy room. Drinks and food expensive but all cinemas are. Ticket prics cheaper than some and accept Orange Wednesdays. Only drawback is seats not very comfortable. I visit here regularly :-)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon england
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Very pleased with the whole experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Comfy seats, slick operation and friendly staff. nearly had a heart attack over the price of the drinks and sweets, but hey you don't HAVE to buy them. Would recommend for a great night out

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My local cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I live very local to this cinema so don't tend to go anywhere else and I am a member of the showcase insiders which gives a discount on admission on certain days and also discount on the comedy nights that they hold there and which I have never been too. The food and beverages like all cinemas are ridiculously expensive as are the admission to the films, especially 3D. However the cinema is clean and tidy and the staff helpfull

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classic cinema experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I've been coming here for 20 years with family, friends and my girlfriend and it is my favourite cinema within the Warwickshire/West Midlands area.

The screens are large and wide, the seats comfy and spacious, completing the cinema experience! Cheapest time to go is at the weekend for the first showing of the day. My only gripe is that the catering service can be slow at times but perfectly polite nonetheless - which won't affect people who stock up on sweets, snacks and drinks before hand! Including myself!

All in all, always a good cinema experience for me and I recommend this cinema to anyone!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Showcase cinema but with Stand Up Comedy on a Sat! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Showcase cinemas are pretty much the same everywhere. This one, very friendly and welcoming staff and clean. Usual overpriced popcorn etc (but not too far from Tesco to get own supplies)
Difference worth mentioning here is one of the rooms hasStand Up Comedy on a Saturday night which is very good value! Been twice. Great fun both nights. Enjoyment is down to the acts which will vary and personal taste but we had a fab time both occassions, laughed loads n definitely go again. Food available. Also, bar inside the room too.

(Only slight thing to mention..a friend said she'd been there to watch a movie and it was in that same screening room and it was still set out for the comedy with long tables making viewing movie difficult. Not sure if this is usual or not but if going to watch a movie just be worth asking if it's in the same room that's used for comedy and probably seeing another movie if seats and tables not changed...oh unless you can get sets at the platform at rear of room as they are facing screen). My points are based on my own experience of the comedy and films on other visits.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Showcase cinema also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Showcase cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Showcase cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.