We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was o.k - you get what you pay for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beechwood Inn to your Saves list
Beechwood Inn
Sandpits Lane | Keresley, Coventry CV6 2FR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Was o.k - you get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed here for one night as we were going to see P!nk at the Ricoh Arena and for one night it was fine.
We arrived just before 2pm and check in was easy and quick. We were in room 11 on the first floor and although it was small it had all we neede for one night.
The bathroom was adequate with shower over bath and the water was hot - maybe a little too hot!
There were tea/coffee making facilities, some fruit and a t.v. The bed was comfy and as it was very warm at night it was nice to be on the first floor so we could fully open the window.
Included in our price was continental breakfast which consisted of a choice of cereals, toast with jams and marmalades, fruit cocktail, melon, prunes, and juice, tea and coffee. If you want a full english it was extra.
The hotel is about 2 miles from the city centre and a half hour stroll to the Ricoh Arena.
All in all it was ok and we would stay again if going to a concert.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    16
    11
    20
See reviews for
14
26
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Our party of 9 were originally booked into the Royal Court but we had to re locate to the Beechwod at the last minute.

Having read reviews on here, which left little to the imagination, we were a bit worried. However we were pleasantly surprised, the staff were pleasant and welcoming and they all spoke excellent English. The hotel itself was acceptable, the rooms were small but clean, the linen and towels were spotless, a little basket of fruit in each room was a nice touch! There was tea/coffee making facilities in the room, flat screen tv and hairdryer. Iron and ironing board supplied on request at no extra cost.

The room doors DO lock but we had to ask how and were shown without any problems.

On our first night dining it did unfortunately take a very long time for the food to arrive at our table but we voiced our concern the next night and it did arrive a little quicker. The waiting staff were helpful and pleasant. The food itself wasnt great but it was edible!!

All in all we had a pleasant stay at The Beechwood, and would probably stay again.

This hotel has had some terrible reviews and Im not saying that they are false but things have definately improved, I hope my comments help others when considering this hotel.

  • Liked — The helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — The food could have been better, but it wasnt the worst
  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Although the rooms are looking a little tired cleanliness was great, the shower worked well and the bed was very comfortable. I understand from a conversation with the new owner that the hotel had only very recently come under his management and many changes are planned, but these will be in keeping with the age of the building.
We took breakfast at the hotel on three occasions, one the basic included with the room, and twice the English, and we ate there twice in the evening. The quality of food and cooking was extremely good and the price very reasonable.
Free parking in a spacious car park to the rear of the hotel made life easy and its location about 9 easy to drive miles from the NEC were both bonuses.
The main thing about this hotel though is the staff, extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
We will certainly be using the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We were somewhat wary when booking this hotel. We'd seen several very poor reviews for it, and the only glowing reviews were by TripAdvisor members who had only ever submitted one review. We really didn't know what to expect.

The hotel is easy enough to find, set back off the road in Sandpits Lane. It is located next to a petrol station and small shop, but far enough away so as not to hear any noise. The hotel is built alongside, and over, a pub. This isn't itself a bad thing. The pub was actually quite pleasant, and the dining area was very nice. We did eat in the pub restaurant, and the food was really very good (although we did seem to wait an inordinate length of time for it to arrive). Consider the food/drink a big 'plus point' of this hotel.

Outside the hotel was an inflatable bouncy castle, which our kids loved. After finishing breakfast one delightfully sunny morning, the hotel owner blew up the bouncy castle just for us. The kids were very impressed, and gave us (the parents) the chance to relax in the sun with a coffee. Again, the helpfulness of the staff goes in the plus column.

Plenty of on-site free parking - nothing to worry about there.

Some of the reviews we had read mentioned late-night noise. The family room does appear to be situated above the bar and, although you could hear general hubbub from below, it was not of sufficiently high volume to prevent or interrupt sleep. However, we were not there on a night when the hotel hosted a DJ or wedding reception in the marquee.

We booked into the family room which, unlike many hotels these days, had proper beds (ie. a double and 2 singles, rather than sofa-beds). The room itself was a good size, although the beds were showing their age a bit. The bathroom was simply furnished, but adequate. The window only partially opened, so don't expect to fully experience too much fresh air. If you can look past the faults (eg. very creaky floorboards, threadbare carpets, wallpaper that doesn't go all the way to the floor, unpainted windowframes, etc), then its not altogether a bad place. Yes, it could do with some modernisation but, lets face it, it was never going to be a Radisson or Hilton, was it?

The room came with a couple of comfy chairs, desk, wardrobe space and in-room tea/coffee/biscuits. Whilst there is no room service, the reception staff did explain that they would be happy to bring up extra milk, tea, coffee, etc. Two TVs, although the flatscreen one didn't appear to be working.

Oh, and do practice locking the bedroom doors before you leave the room. Contrary to some reviews I've seen, the locks do work, but there is a specific knack to them. We couldn't, however, see any form of lock on the bathroom door.

Breakfast was acceptable. A choice of some fruit, yoghurts, cereal, toast and cooked food upon request.

But one point to note - be careful on the price. When we booked, the hotel's website showed £80 per night for the hotel. However, when we booked, we were quoted £100 per night. Do be careful to ensure you are paying the price you think you are paying. At £80 per night, it is probably just about reasonable value for money for four people, but £100 per night is probably pushing it a bit.

We were attending an event at the Royal Court Hotel in Coventry. We chose the Beechwood Inn because the Royal Court Hotel didn't have any family rooms available. In case you are attending at the Royal Court Hotel, it is a 10-15 minute stroll up the road. Perfectly walkable, although the pavement is quite narrow. Safe during the daytime, but wouldn't feel quite so safe walking back home at night due to the proximity of some rather speedy cars only inches away.

Would we stay there again? Well, if we could find a family room somewhere else in Coventry for £100 per night, then no, we wouldn't. But if there were no better value-for-money deals around, then yes, we'd probably consider it again. It does have a number of plus points and, if you can overlook the tired nature of the internal decoration, then you may well be able to justify the price too. Perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

The inn is in the process of being upgraded and the corridors are a bit shabby. The rooms, whilst small, are clean and the towells are fluffy. We ete there two nights in succession. The menu is extensive - more upmarket than 'pub grub' but prices are reasonable. Both nights our meals were delicious. we all (8 of us) would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

we had a family party nearby, we where told the only room available was the executive honeymoon suite with four poster bed spa bath in beautiful grounds, firstly the beautiful grounds consisted of a tatty car park round the back with a tatty ole marquee and a rusty mouldy caravan, there was nobody on reception and we had to search for our room ourselves easier said than done. the executive honeymoon suite consisted of a some tatty old furniture with cardboard under some bits to keep it level, the heating was on about 80 degrees which you couldnt turn down, we had to have all the windows open which was noisy, there was a big spotlight shining in through the window which was a problem as the curtains dont meet in the middle. the spa bath has a broken plug and the spa bit didnt work anyway, the ceiling was covered in mould and where it had started to fall down black bin liners had been stapled over it presumably to stop it dropping on peoples heads, full english breakfast consisted of a sausage a rasher of grey streaky bacon a broken egg half a tomato and a and i mean a mushroom cut into four (a button mushroom at that) and the fresh orange juice was orange and pineapple squash, we have heard the food is good in the evening obviously a different chef for breakfast, the staff dont speak english and just shrugged at us, all in all we wouldnt recommend it to our worst enemy let alone friends, it was fawlty towers without the charm, i suppose it could have been worse it could have been our honeymoon night, the advert and pictures are totally mis leading which i am not sure is strictly legal we wont be visiting again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

I would like to start this review by saying that I have never left a review on a hotel. I am fairly easy going and usually accept the hotels I stop in, but felt obliged to the public to make them aware of the disaster that is the Beechwood.

I had planned to stay in this hotel with a colleague for 3 nights... we tollerated 1 (and that was because we arrived late and was unable to get anywhere else). Upon arriving, my keys were simply left out on the reception desk, with nobody on the reception desk to process my booking. The receptionist was working on the bar, which meant anyone could have taken them!! When walking up to my room, I noticed room numbers stuck on with cellotape or even written on with black marker pen. The doors didnt go down to the floor, so some rooms blocked noise out by using towels. When getting in my room, my windows were broke and wouldnt close, so it was really cold all night (the locks were hanging off). I had a dead snail on the window cill, the net curtains were full of holes and very dirty and I wouldnt like to suggest what was smeared down my wall (apparently it was paint.... whatever!) and the room had damp patches everywhere. It was also really noisey, with music playing until well after midnight. My colleague, also had just as much joy with this horrendous place. The lock on her door didnt work. She had no hot water (it had all run out when asking the staff), her TV didnt work , the carpets were filthy and she had water flooding from her ceiling at 12.30am. All problems were complained about, but the dead snail would have been more accomodating then the staff in this hell hole.
Speaking of which, none of the staff spoke a word of english, they wore scruffy clothes and were very very rude.
How this hotel stays in business is totally beyond me.
Save your money and stop in a shed, it would be more enjoyable!!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Quality
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Address: Sandpits Lane | Keresley, Coventry CV6 2FR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beechwood Inn is one of Coventry's best kept secrets. This converted 13th century farmhouse is the ideal place for stay or to dine. The menu offers both traditional and international style food, with a continental feel. All dishes are freshly prepared to order and are created when possible, from seasonal, local produce. The Beechwood Inn offers a cosy, relaxed atmosphere with a country feel with friendlty staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.