We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management issues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beechwood Inn to your Saves list
Beechwood Inn
Sandpits Lane | Keresley, Coventry CV6 2FR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
asplund
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Management issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I gave this place a great review 5 years ago when it had a different manager and I had wedding guests staying here. We just had a similar situation with lots of guests staying but the atmosphere couldnt have been more different under new management. Some of the tv's hadnt been connected after months, its like they are just there for show. The guests were paying different rates despite us agreeing on a rate previously for our group. The music for the party had to finish at 11 on a saturday night which I can appreciate because of other guests, but still seemed a bit early. None of our guests could get served drinks after 11 which is unheard of usually if you are a resident somewhere. The staff had all walked out the week before and they do seem to be under staffed alot. The food was good though
We get the impression that the wages here are terrible, and the owners are very tight, which is why they cant keep any good staff and the place is going slowly down hill. Its also looking more and more tired, it needs a loving touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    16
    11
    20
See reviews for
14
26
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland dorset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

we stayed at this hotel on the 23rd 24th and 25th of august 2012 , we booked by phone and for a double room were given a price of £35.00 per night , I paid over the phone by debit card that should be a total of £105.00 i was sent a email confirming the booking that i did not check exept for the dates were correct,on recieving my bank statment at the end of august i have had £165.00 taken from my account , on checking the email the price had gone from £35.00 per night to £45.00 per night , we have been over charged £60.00 on the price given over the phone , and £30 00 by the price on the email , after 5 phone calls there is no sign of getting my money back after all sorts of excuses from this load of robbers ,, WHAT EVER YOU DO DO NOT PAY OVER THE PHONE FROM YOUR DEBIT CARD ECT, better still dont take a chance and stay some where else , my next step is the office of fair trading and the police fraud dept watch this space for up dates,,,,,,,

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked a room for a father for one night as he had come over from South Africa, everything was ok we had a nice meal in the evening.
Met my Dad sunday morning for breakfast at 10 am, to be told breakfast finished at 9.30am and chef had gone home.
I could accept that, but my Dad was told it was on till 11am and no problem would sort it out when we wanted it. Management did not even offer a sorry or refund, will never use it again!!!!
Bar staff and food was excelent, management very poor.

Mr Barnett

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

went for a birthday party room was not very good they blocked the fire exit with a table so if there was a fire there was only one way out which is not very good.
food was very basic and drinks were very expensive.

wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcavelos, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed at the Beechwood for one week to attend a exhibition on the NEC, it was not close but at the time we booked it was the most affordable in the area.

The rooms are basic but comfortable, the heating works really well, you cannot put it on max :)

The staff was excellent, it seems that there are two girls that do everything, from working on the reception to the bar and restaurant always with a smile on their face.

We needed to receive some packages on the hotel for the exhibition and there were no problems at all, we even left some stuff there so DHL could pick it up for us.

The food was excellent, the restaurant was almost full everyday but it's not a problem if you want to sleep as it closes at 11pm.

I really recommend the chicken wing and humus.

They are now expanding the hotel by building some extension to the existing building, so more rooms will be available soon.

Next time I'll visit Coventry or attend to a exhibition at the NEC this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed at the Beechwood Inn for 3 nights in March 2012 with my nephew and his fiance. Enjoyed my stay as the rooms were basic but comfortable and clean. I was overly impressed by the staff as one young lady seemed to be doing all the work as she checked us in and then she was there in the bar serving us, and again as our waitress; she was a delight, smiley girl who seemed very attentive and knew what she was doing. Then on my second night I was impressed again by the service of a new waitress but seemed very experienced to me and she couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was the same with a foreign lady who spoke excellent english and was very helpfull too. The food was excellent and the surrounding area was beautiful. However my only complaint was a guest/customer/staff (I couldn't work it out) who walked round the hotel with a hooded jacket on which i was suprised that he wasn't told to remove as he looked very unapproachable and intimidating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it was a pleasure to stay here and will come again on my next visit to Coventry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

Nice room, outside looked abit tatty, and not enough staff, only stayed one night but would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Address: Sandpits Lane | Keresley, Coventry CV6 2FR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beechwood Inn is one of Coventry's best kept secrets. This converted 13th century farmhouse is the ideal place for stay or to dine. The menu offers both traditional and international style food, with a continental feel. All dishes are freshly prepared to order and are created when possible, from seasonal, local produce. The Beechwood Inn offers a cosy, relaxed atmosphere with a country feel with friendlty staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.