We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coventry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnacle Hall
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shilton Lane | Shilton, Coventry CV7 9LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Coventry B&B and Inns
burgos
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“quality at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very comfortable and spacious room in lovely surroundings. About 15 minutes from the city centre.
A good nights sleep, great breakfast and a host that caters to your every need.
Just up the road in Shiton there's a decent pub/restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
29
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had a 4 day stay here and I was made very welcome by Rose and enjoyed my stay thoroughly
The place is spotlessly clean and there are many thoughtful touches in the rooms.
Bedrooms are large,comfortable and spacious.
Good local knowledge from Rose helped me find some good local places to eat at
A really good breakfast every morning set me up for the day
Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Lovely clean spacious room; fresh milk ready for us each evening when we got back ( no fighting with silly little cartons!); delicious breakfasts cooked to order; Rose is a superb host; all topped off with views across the garden with woodpeckers and goldcrest - what more could you want!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stay at this fantastic Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast establishment twice per year and I have to say it is THE BEST.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owner.The bedroom is clean,spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast is superb.Always a good selection of cereals,fruit and juices and the cooked breakfast is first class.
A quiet location,which is a must if you have had a particularly long day on the road or working at the nearby Birmingham NEC which ,incidentally, is only 25 minutes away.I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great combination of a historic building with modern comfort. One can see that Rose sincerely cares about the house, gardens, and her guests. It definitely shows in every detail.
It cost us 20 pounds to get there from Coventry Train Station, and 35 pounds to get from Barnacle Hall to Warwick Castle.
Amazing place, I wish I stayed there for much longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We couldn't possibly have enjoyed staying at Barnacle Hall any more. Wonderful setting, amazing house and the most charming hosts. We felt totally at home and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we're in the area again.

Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Be safe in the knowledge that the owners will select the perfect room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Absolutely top class what an amazing place and incredibly helpful. Rose answered my e mailed questions in such detail even offering us board games for the evening. It is an extraordinary beamed building, immaculately clean, lovely tasteful colour schemes, cosy and warm, fresh flower arrangement, proper fresh milk for the tea,coffee etc, soft comfy chairs and awesome views of the countryside and beautiful gardens. Rose asked each of us exactly what we would like for breakfast and it was cooked fresh just for us. Also Rose gave up considerable time to explain the way onto the local across Coventry way walk which was right by the canal. She even let us take her map with us !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barnacle Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacle Hall

Address: Shilton Lane | Shilton, Coventry CV7 9LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnacle Hall 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barnacle Hall to your Saves list