We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view of golfcourse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Leisure Club to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Leisure Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9AL, England (Formerly Windmill Village Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Sheffield, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely view of golfcourse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here one night sharing a triple room with Mum & Sister. Lovely bright room overlooking the golf course and a shiny bathroom. The room would have benefitted from a bit of redecoration, and the removal of the child's dirty handprints from the window. Other than that, the room had everything we wanted with generous supplies of toiletries and tea/coffee etc.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a bar meal, in the evening, which was a reasonable price and very enjoyable. The Cellar Bar isn't a cellar, but a pleasant room, which opens out onto the golfcourse. The breakfast was in the restaurant, which is large and airy - a very pleasant place to eat. Breakfast was average - plenty of cooked food (which was good) but a poor selection of fruit and rather fusty-tasting cold croissants. The usual stewed coffee (why do most hotels seem unable to provide decent coffee at breakfast?) and hopeless toast maker (bread kept getting stuck and filling the room with smoke) did not add to my enjoyment of the meal. Breakfast tip - order breakfast at the same time as you book your room, then it costs £6. If you buy breakfast as a separate item it's £13 and definitley not worth the price.

We will definitely stay again, and eat in the Cellar Bar again, but next time may skip the breakfast

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the golf course, if you like a bright room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    155
    82
    25
    28
See reviews for
101
106
9
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent one night here for a wedding and I have to say the rooms are very attractive and have a traditional hotel feel. Rooms overlooking the golf course are especially nice with the ability to look out onto the course from a balcony.

The biggest issue we had was that the rooms were boiling hot at night and as we had a young child in a bed we could not risk leaving the patio doors that lead onto the balcony open - the lack of a window made for a very on/off nights sleep.

The swimming pool is very clean and warm, good for a splash around with the kids.

Drinks are VERY expensive, I don't mind paying more and expect to in a hotel but £3.45 for a pint of Bass Bitter gave me the feeling of being exploited.

The meal we enjoyed at the wedding party was excellent, the breakfast was fairly average with sausauges infused with some sort of vile herb concoction which remained in the throat all day.

Lovely rooms and a nice setting, but value for money really isn't there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely clean hotel with great views over golf course,lake&countryside.close to lots of things to do eg Warwick castle, Coventry city centre etc. rooms gorgeous with nice bathrooms.we loved the pool&sauna. Breakfast good with great choice.
Loved it that much stayed an extra night to chill out after busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights on 4/5th August. It's under going a bit of renovation at the front of the resteraunt but this doesn't effect the hotel. We didn't see you had to drive past the building and round a corner for reception at first...the road is horrendous...all bumpy and full of pot holes and we wondered what the heck we had let ourselves in for.
It's lovely though. Clean, clutter free and friendly once inside. Staff are pleasant and happy to help. Gyms small but very clean and everything was working. Pool small and crowded earlier on but quieter when I went in. Jacuzzi wasn't working to full potential I was informed by a golf member.
Golf course looked nice with lake and ducks. My partner played saying it wasn't a very big course.
Room was clean and although I found it dull due to no ceiling lights it was new looking and all looked nice and inviting. We were overlooking golf course. The only complaint was 1 bedside lamp wasn't working which when I told them within the hour it was sorted and the curtain wasn't on the rail properly. I didn't report this as the curtains shut well enough.
I would return :-) even though when you go out because its on a dual carriage way you have to go in the opposite direction 1st if you want to go into Coventry but you soon get used to it. Harvester and hungry horse not far so we ate out.
Bar prices ok depending what you get. Stella 3.90 but large glass of wine over 6 quid!!! We got a bottle whilst out and had an ice bucket delivered to room. Staff were always happy to help.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I booked a "Romantic Break" with Great Little breaks at The Windmill Villagen for anniversary.
Coventry wasn't a logical choice for a brak, but I wanted to visit the Bombed cathedral.
We arrived at the hotel at just after 2.0pm and were shown to our "Superior Room" over looking the golf course.
The room was not big and had the pre-requiste furniture items that seem obl;igatory in a hotel room. Wardrobe, bed side tables, chest of drawers, massive TV unit, etc.
despite the over crowding the room was clwean and comfortable with beautiful views.
Once we had sorted our selves out we went for a swim, sauna, steam and spa in the lovely leisure club. Great facilities and virtually empty.
Our deal included an evening meal and I am so glad that it did. Our meal was as good as any I have had in a hotel, and possibly anywhere else.
I won't go in to too much detail, suffice to say, it was delicious, well presented, and beautifully cooked.
A leisurely stroll around the grounds in the evening was very pleasant.
A reasonable nights sleep followed, my issue, not the hotels, and then to breakfast.
A great buffet breakfast was laid out and thoroughly enjoyed.
My complaints, the orangje juice at breakfast was horrible, it tasted like a cheap carton juice, and the biscuits in the room were minimal and broken. All in all we had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This our second visit here the first being in 2011. To be honest this is a first class establishment. Yes it is designed around the golf ,sports fraternity but that does not detract from the fact that it is ideal for visits to Coventry.
If I am to be brutally honest though the superior room we had 316. Was showing signs of wear. Broken valance on bed which we kept tripping over on. Window frames in need of urgent repair before they need replacing altogether and do you
really still need the huge TV cabinet to house a flat screen TV ?. By loosing the top of these units it would make the rooms less cluttered and light.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Leisure Club

Address: Birmingham Road | Allesley, Coventry CV5 9AL, England (Formerly Windmill Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the most luxurious rooms available for weekend breaks and business stays in the Birmingham, Coventry, Solihull and the NEC area. Unlike most luxury hotels we also boast golf courses, a health club and a leisure club. You will find that unlike most hotels you will have the opportunity to relax, play sport and dine in fine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Windmill Village Hotel Golf And Leisure Club
Windmill Village Coventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.