We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose And Castle

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rose And Castle
Main Road | Ansty, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
024 7661 2822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 435 Restaurants in Coventry
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've popped in three times now, and every meal has been very good. Like other reviewers mention you won't leave hungry! Decent pint too. And the staff are very polite. All good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Be wary of a massive menu.................”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Gastro pub appearance.Looked clean and tidy,staff friendly and welcoming.Menu absolutely huge which always worries me.Starter of smoked haddock and poached egg was great,burger and goats cheese was well overcooked with some very fatty bacon over the top,Chips fine......
Creme brulee was still cold in the middle....
One step up from a Harvester but no much of a step.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The food was outstanding. The staff were helpful and the service was out of this world. The food portions were large but not too much. I would use this restaurant everyday. I would Highly Recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Big Menu and Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A reasonably diverse menu for a pub which makes a change. Have a two for one offer on as well which reduces the overall cost. Ample parking and easy to find - not far from M6 junction 2. Decor is a bit tired but interesting musical theme. Very quick service for food and drinks, table service and ample sized portions. Nice and friendly staff help brighten it further.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
witham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food - Extensive Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've been to The Rose and Castle a few times now, on different weeday evenings, and every time I've had a really good meal. The portions are larger and I've left feeling well fed. They have an extensive "standard" menu and a seperate "specials" menu, which changes frequently. There always seems to be a good number of people eating there, whatever night I have visited, but the staff have always fitted me in even when they were busy. Would I recommend it? Certainly... If you are passing / staying in the area then search it out. It is worth it.

They also have a couple of real ales on tap, which can only make it even better...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose And Castle also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Ansty, Warwickshire
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to The Rose And Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose And Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.