We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complete rip off stay well away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Ice Coventry

Planet Ice Coventry
Croft Road, Coventry CV1 3AZ, England
02476 630 693
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 73 things to do in Coventry
Attraction details
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“complete rip off stay well away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

my wife to two small boys aged 8 and 10, each were charged £9 entrance then £5 for the penguin skate guide then charge 1% to use a debit card not a credit card and te total came to £51 for an hour skating absolutely shocking

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
345 attraction reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
623 helpful votes 623 helpful votes
“fun skating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went on a Monday in term time and it was really quiet. We went for an ice tots session which was exceptionally good value for money as it included toys on the rink for the small children to play with. There was also someone there who took the time to try to help my daughter learn some of the very basics just to get her balance. The penguin we used was a bit difficult to push around the ice but we had a fun session.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ice skating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

If I ever want to do something other than eating out or going to the cinema, me and my friends visit Planet Ice, it's so fun and it's a great way to exercise. We do sometimes get sore bottoms but that is part of the fun!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good ice skating venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

it's a full sized ice hockey rink so there's lots of space. there's plenty of seats for non-skaters, food available, skates available to hire and not too expensive (for a family it may be)
can skate for as long as you want, but sometimes they do close off part of the ice for hockey practise. When it's busy it can be a little frustrating but it won't ruin the day as there's lots of room
look out for the talented skaters - they tend to "show off" their moves in the middle!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“RIP OFF”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Arrived approx 4:40 , even though there was one person in front and 2 staff on the ticket office we didn't get seen until 4:55. Annoying!! Staff seemed deliberately slow and in their own world and conversations. Not the best first impression. We went as a group of 6 (3 adults & 3 children) I was appauled when for my daughter and I alone the price came to £26!!!!!! Shocking! But don't worry because that price included skate hire, Until you see the skates my child was given then you'd worry! I asked for a replacement pair as they looked around 90 years old and very unsafe! The laces looked thread bare and I was shocked. The lad behind the counter said 'they'd be fine' and smirked! Really annoyed by this time. Anyway we get onto the ice and we crawl along the barrier until its clear and I attempt to take a picture to which I'm told by a mardy teenager wearing a high bid waist jacket phones sent permitted on the ice, I apologise and smile but he skates off with his arms crossed! Can I make a suggestion that if that's true can planet ice please make this rule more visable as I saw no signs. Also if the rink is going to have a third coned off half way through public sessions can it be made known to the laying public this is going to happen ? As we're not mind readers and if a learner skater drifts into this area by mistake they do not appreciate being told abruptly to 'move out the way it's for paid lessons'. Towards the end of the session there was a group of kids racing from one end of the rink to the other like maniacs , with penguins , one boy went so fast and had to dart out the way of my daughter which unbalanced her and she fell down!! Where was Mr high vid waist coat then??? None of the children seemed to be with adults either?
Not impressed. Go Solihull.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Ice Coventry also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to Planet Ice Coventry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Ice Coventry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.