We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simulator 737” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flight Simulators Midlands

Flight Simulators Midlands
Coventry Aeroplane Club, Rowley Rd | Coventry, CV3 4FR, Coventry, England
+44 845 474 7737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Activities in Coventry
Type: Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Flight Simulators Midlands are delighted to offer you a thrilling experience on board a real B737-800 motion simulator or a Boeing 747-400 Jumbo Jet simulator with simulated motion or an Airbus A320 real aircraft, converted into a simulator. All are fitted with the latest Glass Cockpit Instrumentation (PFD/ND or EFIS)and the latest graphics available. Fly the mountains around Salzburg or the waterways of Hong Kong. These simulators have trained thousands of professional pilots over the years. (They are not replica simulators like many on offer). Now it's your turn to sit where they did and learn the tricks of the trade. We highly recommend a full hours flight time to get the best from your visit. Welcome on board. Captain Chris Rigby (Chief Pilot FSM)
Huntingdon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simulator 737”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Abs brilliant time for our sons 18th Birthday, his instructor was Chris Rigby who was superb, very well organised and thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Flight Simulators Midlands, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Always a pleasure to fly with the young lads. Trouble is they can do it better than we can!!! - Thanks for coming - Captain Chris RIgby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    33
    11
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffs, England
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“My second visit... love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Let me share my personal thoughts and experiences. I'm a light aircraft pilot and on my first visit went on the 747 static simulator with a non-pilot friend: this time I went on the motion 737 simulator with my 14 year old son, and with my 22 year old nephew about to start commercial pilot training.

1. Get there early: the pre-flight briefing takes 45 minutes at least - there's quite a lot to take in on the well narrated Powerpoint slide show that you step through at your own pace: key is how the primary flight instruments work, though the briefing covers the principles of flight for those interested. Do pay attention to the main Flight Director briefing, as if you get that, the rest is easy. It's all about chasing the little magenta square...!

2. Having flown motion and non-motion, I would say there is surprisingly little to choose between them. The non motion has better projection I think and is so realistic that your brain will make you imagine motion. The motion 737 (they have a motion Airbus too) is fairly gentle. I'd go for the 747 without motion for me next time. Also note the Boeings have full control column yokes, whereas the Airbus has a small joystick and probably feels different

3. Your pilot will make sure you don't pile into the ground, and will control the throttles for you, and will nudge you along towards success. He will judge whether to give you a break using autopilot, or whether to make you concentrate all the way through your slot. If you're focused and very skilled, you'll probably do a take off, fly around some mountains, and return to land the aircraft - all manually. If you're struggling - and this is a lot to take in, so most will - then a few minutes of autopilot is a welcome relief whilst you get your breath back and work out what to do when back in control

4. A spectator can sit behind you in the darkened cockpit and observe

5. Afterwards there's a good little bar/café upstairs with a balcony where you can watch the comings and goings of the main runway at Coventry

6. And to make a day of it, have a look at the Midland Air Museum next door, where there is a Meteor, Phantom, Lightning, Tornado, Vulcan (wow) and a lot more.

7. 30 minutes is short but worth it. An hour is better if you can stretch to it - you'll feel you've got somewhere rather than leave feeling a bit overawed. But if budgets are tight - 30 mins is fine and a great experience!

8. If you are really into flying, then in the same hangar is Coventry Flying Club and you could have a trial flight with them - just Google them for details (their PA28's are lovely!)

PS Parking outside is free and easy: beware the traffic on the A45 roadworks at present (summer 2014) as rush hour delays can add 30 mins to the last mile

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Flight Simulators Midlands, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Always a pleasure to have a returning pilot. Just one point about the motion though. When you are flying the aircraft well, you don't feel much movement which was probably why you didn't notice it much. In addition, the brain compensates for motion that it is expecting. For example, if you drive a car over a hump back bridge, you don't feel anything as the driver but a passenger in the back will feel their stomach hitting the roof. This is because your brain knows what is happening and so the warning signal of movement is suppressed. The same thing happens in the simulators. Where you feel strange is when you brain (eyes) tell you one thing but your body does not feel a matching sensation movement. Interesting stuff. Look forward to you coming again. - Captain Chris Rigby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I was given a half hour experience as a birthday present. Greeted very well and both my wife and I were shown the introduction video which was very informative for a pair of complete novices.Chris advised the full hour and offered the increase at a discounted rate - he was right. The time goes so fast. We, also, opted for the motion which helped enhance the experience, I cannot understand the comments about only flying for a few moments before auto pilot was engaged. I had control for almost the whole hour. Chris did operate most of the levers etc. but concentrating on keeping the plane on course and level took all of my effort. In fact I kept getting told off for gripping the controls too tight - I was trying that hard.
All in all a great experience and very enjoyable. This may seem a tad expensive but the equipment must cost a lot to buy and maintain and you do have to pay for a pilot and they are not paid peanuts.
Thanks for a great day guys

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Flight Simulators Midlands, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thanks for coming. Glad you enjoyed the day. If I may say something about the price, we are less than half of what you would pay anywhere else for real simulators. Most of the other experience simulators are mock ups and are made from lightweight replica material. One of these I know advertises that his machines have trained real pilots. Not so. They have never been licensed machines nor could they be. If you try the BA machines in Heathrow they will cost you in excess of £600 / hour. We are £175. That's a fair price I think you would agree. Anyway, hope to see you again. - Captain Chris Rigby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Everyone should this - at least once!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Today's opportunity to fly the 747 Jumbo Jet flight simulator was simply awesome!
Difficult to put into words, but a truly unique experience made easy and thoroughly enjoyable by an excellent and committed team. Special thanks go to my instructor, Captain Julian Wiggin who ensured the whole experience was professional but hugely enjoyable. Can't wait to have another go!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Flight Simulators Midlands, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
No, you are wrong. They should do it at least twice or maybe three times. Thanks for coming. - Captain Chris Rigby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull , England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Flight simulator review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My 2 sons bought me this experience for my birthday and I had the most wonderful time .
The pre-flight briefing video was very informative and the subsequent instruction by Alistair - thanks for answering my many questions - was very useful .
I would unhesitatingly recommend this to all armchair pilots .

Mike Thrupp

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, Owner at Flight Simulators Midlands, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thanks. I'll pass your remarks onto Alistair. He is one of our instructors who is still flying with a major UK airline. We try to only use the best possible guys to give you a great time. Do come and visit again. - Captain Chris Rigby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flight Simulators Midlands also viewed

 
Coventry, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Flight Simulators Midlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flight Simulators Midlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.