We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food beautiful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant

2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant
R/O 74 Walsgrave Road | Ball Hill, Coventry CV2 4ED, England
02477671242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 426 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: Caribbean, English, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nestled in the secluded courtyard of 2Tone Village this newly refurbished family run cafe & restaurant provides good food, good times and great service.Home of the Jerk Sausage 2Tone Cafe offers all day breakfast, and more, including Caribbean meals. The restaurant offers an enticing menu of good 'home' style cuisine for those new to Caribbean food and the connoisseur.2Tone Village where the stars of 2Tone are often seen dining, jamming or generally hanging out.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food beautiful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This restaurant is only small but run beautifully by a husband and wife team! Probably the best food I have eaten in a very long time! A warm and friendly place with fantastic food ! Worth travelling and finding x x

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Manager at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Many thanks for you review of our small restaurant. We are so glad you think that the food is "the best you have eaten in a long time" it is good for us to hear that we are doing something right :) We are also grateful for your comment about the warm and friendly atmosphere which we think is equally as important as the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Simmer Down again.

Angela, Alph & Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    29
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Lovely - Lovely -Lovely.
By far the best food - Took our own drink and only paid a small corkage fee.
Excellent food - very nicely presented.
Lovely friendly owners who took time to talk to everyone.
Thank-you for the tips on how to make the jerk seasoning...........Still work in progress!!
On next visit must leave room for the fab looking cakes - See you soon x

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi there

Many thanks for you 'lovely' and kind review of our restaurant. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and yes you really must leave room next time to try one of our homemade cakes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Simmer Down soon.

Alph, Angela and Simmer Down family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is the place to go for a warm welcome followed by home cooked truley tasty Caribbean food - amazing. Great to go for a meal on a Friday or Saturday night in the and kick back and enjoy great food at very reasonable prices.

The cafe is a little gem and as mentioned by previous reviewers the cake is delicious I have earned the name carrot cake lady as I have eaten so much - the best I have ever tasted...

Highly recommended day or night

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Manager at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hi there

Many thanks for your review and your recommendation it is very much appreciated

I have to say you are not the only one who seems to have taken a liking to our Carrot cake we have one customer from Newcastle who never goes back without having "the best carrot cake in the world" he says.

Hopefully see you soon :)

Angela, Alph & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience with some good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went as a party of 9. Everything was ready for us on time when we arrived. We were pleasantly surprised by the low prices, eg. fruit juice for £1.50, plantain side dish for £1, even the main courses were only £6-8 including one side dish such as rice or sweet potato.

The restaurant is not licensed but their corkage charge is about £2.50 and there's a Nisa supermarket across the road if you forget and just want something quick.

The staff were very friendly, though our waitress was somewhat forgetful and we had to chase some sweets.

So what was the food like? We had sharing platters for starters: the saltfish was superb, sweetcorn fritters good, and dumplings pretty tasteless. My curried mutton was excellent, as was the jerk chicken and Callaloo. Apparently the Brown Stew Chicken wasn't so good. Sweets: pineapple & coconut pie was very good as was the ginger cake (they'll do it with rum & raisin ice cream if you wish), but the fruit plate was tinned pineapple and seeded grapes.

Three courses with a soft drink (we bought the wine from Nisa :), came to about £15 each. Not perfect service, not uniformly perfect food, but a great experience with friendly staff and some excellent food if you choose carefully.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Manager at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Many thanks for your comprehensive review of our restaurant we are so pleased that you found it an "enjoyable experience with some good food", we are sorry that not all the food was to your parties liking.

A couple of apologies are due I think although I know my husband apologised on the night; firstly I must apologies for the the fact that you had to chase some of the desserts this is really not acceptable, secondly with hindsight we should just have said that we did not have fruit plate available rather than cobble something together which was not up to our normal standard.

Once again thank you for your favorable review.

Angela, Alph and Simmer Down Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Caribbean Cuisine and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Top notch! Discovered the Simmer Down restaurant whilst visiting the 2 Tone Village and completely fell in love with the place. Fabulous authentic Caribbean food with friendly and accommodating service to match. A real hidden gem!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Manager at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hello Colin

Many thanks for your review, we are so glad that you think we are 'top notch' that is what we aim for we may not always achieve it but it's always our goal.

We do hope you will visit us again when you are next in the City

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.