We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little restaurant - a must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant

2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant
R/O 74 Walsgrave Road | Ball Hill, Coventry CV2 4ED, England
02477671242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 426 Restaurants in Coventry
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: Caribbean, English, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nestled in the secluded courtyard of 2Tone Village this newly refurbished family run cafe & restaurant provides good food, good times and great service.Home of the Jerk Sausage 2Tone Cafe offers all day breakfast, and more, including Caribbean meals. The restaurant offers an enticing menu of good 'home' style cuisine for those new to Caribbean food and the connoisseur.2Tone Village where the stars of 2Tone are often seen dining, jamming or generally hanging out.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic little restaurant - a must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great hosts, great night.

Fantastic little place with a fantastic setting.

A small Caribbean restaurant that you must try, food is home cooked tasty, full of soul and warmth.

The owners are great and took time out from the kitchen to chat and talk about the food and restaurant.

We tried the mixed starter for 4, three of us soon made light work of it!! Had the oxtail which was just the kind of homely dish you need on a November night. Then the Homemade Ginger cake topped off a great night.

Only open Fri, Sat and Sun and small place so I would book. No booze but you can take your own and pay a small corkage fee, or try a refreshing ginger beer.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Manager at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking time out to review our restaurant your comments are very much appreciated..

We love talking to our diners and getting firsthand feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. By the way advising people to book is sound advice thank you.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you to Simmer Down again in the very near future.

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    29
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Scrumptious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

A lovely little Gem full of Beautiful people and Beautiful food. An excellent relaxing environment xx

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Many thanks KatieRudegirl for taking time out to write such a complementary review of us and our restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back to the restaurant very soon :) :)

Angela, Alph & the Simmer Down family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I visited with four friends last Saturday and we had a superb meal. The atmosphere was very friendly. The food was of excellent quality and nothing was too much trouble. The prices were very fair. The only downer was that they only have a beer & wine licence, no spirits. Overall the experience was very good and we will go back when were next in Coventry. The location is in the 2 tone village, so make sure you visit the excellent music museum that is also located there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Manager at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for taking time out to write a review of our restaurant. We are really glad that you and your party enjoyed our food and the atmosphere and of course noting (within reason :) is too much trouble for our customers.

We look forward to visiting you when you are next in Coventry.

Angela, Alph & The Simmer Down family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Gem of a place for all 2 tone fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Part of the 2 Tone village the cafe is really small but serves good food at a great price surrounded by 2 Tone memrobilia. The staff are fantastic and friendly. Make sure you visit the museum while you are there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review Nigel W, we are always happy to serve our customers and pride ourselves on offering good food and a reasonable cost and we are glad that you appreciated that.

We do hope you will visit us and the museum again, I think the plan is to change the displays on a regular basis so do check their facebook page or website.

Kind regards

Angela, Alph & the 2 Tone Cafe family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The food here is very good. I have always liked caribbean food and this was well above average. The Mutton Curry is excellent! The prices are very favourable on all dishes.

The place itself is very small, which is OK, the service is a little slow, but agoain I can look past this, but the drinks menu is poor. Carling (in a can) or a cheap bottle of wine if you want alcohol. Maybe they just need to invest in a small bar with a beer pump?

Other than the drinks, I would definately recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaK486, Owner at 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks for your complimentary review of our food we are delighted that you felt it was "well above average", we are keen to keep our food authentic, good quality and reasonably priced.

By the way diners are welcome to bring their own drinks for a small corkage fee. We are in the process of applying for a permanent liquor licence, you would have come on an evening when we had a temporary event licence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Simmer Down.

Alph, Angela & the Simmer Down family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant also viewed

Coventry, West Midlands
 
Coventry, West Midlands
Coventry, West Midlands
 

Been to 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2 Tone Cafe & Simmer Down Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.